Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005 - 2014 Mustangs
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


2005 - 2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2007, 02:27 PM   #21
07SCGT
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 497
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Can anyone point me to a good photo editor so I can crop some photos. I took some pictures of my setup last night in normal mode and the pics are still 650x650....I seem to be having difficulty loading any pics on this site.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
__________________
Saleen SC, JBA, Granatelli CA's, Eaton Posi,CAI, Alum. Drvsft, 3.73's Nitto 555r's 473RWHP/452RWTQ and a maxed out Visa to go with the pissed off wife.


07SCGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 02:49 PM   #22
07SCGT
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 497
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

ok I think I figured this out, it sucks when technology passes you buy, where a 13 year old when you need one to help with the computers...LOL

__________________
Saleen SC, JBA, Granatelli CA's, Eaton Posi,CAI, Alum. Drvsft, 3.73's Nitto 555r's 473RWHP/452RWTQ and a maxed out Visa to go with the pissed off wife.


07SCGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:10 PM   #23
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Black GT
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Stormbringer

I can see where youre coming from on the scotch locks... I dont think it will be a problem on the inside of the car... Ive used them before without any issues. Its when people use them to do things like wiring trailers that they almost always end in a catestrophic failure. Soldering is best, but a good crimped on butt spice usually works pretty well too.
OK, I will give you guys the use of scotch locks as not the best but it's not like I'm going for audiophile here. I don't see a big problem with using them just to grab off the rear speakers for low bass inputs or to grab off a 12v to use as a turn on lead. I've done my fair share of sound systems and normally I do use heatshrink and a butane soldering iron. If it was for speaker wires (not for a sub), I agree 100% not to use the scotch locks.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 07SCGT

Can anyone point me to a good photo editor so I can crop some photos. I took some pictures of my setup last night in normal mode and the pics are still 650x650....I seem to be having difficulty loading any pics on this site.
http://www.mustangforums.com/m_3335125/tm.htm I use paint.net for my basic stuff and it works well enough. You can also try and save things as a .gif and instead of a jpg and that will free up some space too.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: TacoBill

Excellent write-up my young Apprentice!

It wasvery well written and all the stepsin logical order. What I try to accomplish in my write-ups is for anyone to view the steps and perform the mod or install. No matter how simple or obvious a step is, I still spell it out, just like what you did on disconnecting the battery.

Again, good job!
Thanks, that means a lot! There were a couple of times I was writing and had a picture (like the disconnecting the negative terminal of the battery) that I wasn't going to use because it was "too obvious" but at the last minute threw in. It may be "too obvious" if you've done it before, but why not remind people?

I just used your installing the FRPP Stingers How To a couple of weekends ago to install my Corsa's. While the corsa directions were very good (I've heard some that aren't), yours still had good info that I was glad I read.
__________________



35% Tint, GT500 rear spoiler, 3dCarbon Front Lip
Corsa Crew Member
Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 03:12 PM   #24
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Black GT
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 07SCGT

ok I think I figured this out, it sucks when technology passes you buy, where a 13 year old when you need one to help with the computers...LOL

LOL, agreed! Nice setup btw!
__________________



35% Tint, GT500 rear spoiler, 3dCarbon Front Lip
Corsa Crew Member
Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:15 PM   #25
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

"The easiest way beside a multimeter to tell if you have a bad ground is to start the car and drive it around with the speaker volume set to minimum 2-3 on the volume. If you here alternator whine and or your amp constantly cuts out or shuts off, then you have a bad ground. No alternator whine, or cutting outmeans you "most likely" don't have a ground loop failure. "

Thats also a easy and quick way to draw way too much current from down the
low level inputs and toast the amp - driving around with a bad ground wire on
the amp, that is. The only place for the amp to get its ground without the ground
hooked up is down the RCA low level connections. It can also kill the output
of the head unit. But to each his own. Keep on giving the good advice there
07SCGT. I guess you have a few hundred installs under your belt?
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:18 PM   #26
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

"OK, I will give you guys the use of scotch locks as not the best but it's not like I'm going for audiophile here. I don't see a big problem with using them just to grab off the rear speakers for low bass inputs or to grab off a 12v to use as a turn on lead. I've done my fair share of sound systems and normally I do use heatshrink and a butane soldering iron. If it was for speaker wires (not for a sub), I agree 100% not to use the scotch locks. "

Scotchlocks are insulation displacement connectors. They suck on stranded wire
as the round wire is forced into a narrow slot and deformed. Give it time and
vibration and the wire you tapped into will eventually break.

__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:29 PM   #27
07SCGT
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 497
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 157db

"The easiest way beside a multimeter to tell if you have a bad ground is to start the car and drive it around with the speaker volume set to minimum 2-3 on the volume. If you here alternator whine and or your amp constantly cuts out or shuts off, then you have a bad ground. No alternator whine, or cutting outmeans you "most likely" don't have a ground loop failure. "

Thats also a easy and quick way to draw way too much current from down the
low level inputs and toast the amp - driving around with a bad ground wire on
the amp, that is. The only place for the amp to get its ground without the ground
hooked up is down the RCA low level connections. It can also kill the output
of the head unit. But to each his own. Keep on giving the good advice there
07SCGT. I guess you have a few hundred installs under your belt?
In all the years I have been into car audio I have always been able to tell right away when I have a faulty ground by hearing alternator whine, pops, clips amp cutting out etc. I don't know about your setup, I know that my inputs are all 4 guage going to each amps power, and 4 guage for each ground. My amps won't even turn on if my ground connection is lose in the slightest,(which I always mount directly to the trunk floor after taking a wire brush and removing the paint). Maybe some of the cheaper amps will allow a ground connection through RCA's, mine however do not, nor have I heard of this happening.
__________________
Saleen SC, JBA, Granatelli CA's, Eaton Posi,CAI, Alum. Drvsft, 3.73's Nitto 555r's 473RWHP/452RWTQ and a maxed out Visa to go with the pissed off wife.


07SCGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:40 PM   #28
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

If your amps wont allow a ground thru the RCAs, whats all this about listening for
a whine? The whine is a ground path thru the RCAs. Duh. CET are we?
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:45 PM   #29
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

I run fully balanced inputs on all my amps and there is zero external noise
so your method of checking for a bad ground would not work for me.
I really like the voltage drop method. No driving around listening for
noises and such. Its right there in your face, the voltage drop on the
meter. Mine has min/max/avg storage readings for getting those really
fast readings that cant be seen by a LCD multimeter.
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:53 PM   #30
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

And just how did you use that multimeter to check the ground connection?
With the Ohms setting? Or did you do a voltage drop test from the amp
ground input to the negative post on the battery? I need more info on this
correct way you did things.

How about an answer Aziraphale?
Call me a basher and wont even answer questions?
Where of where did you go??
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:53 PM   #31
07SCGT
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 497
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 157db
Duh. CET are we?
I wouldn't want the pay cut.
I like affording all my toys, and not having any car, truck (an 05 Avalanche), 07atv Polaris, 06 Victory Hammermotorcycle andtoy hauler payments.
__________________
Saleen SC, JBA, Granatelli CA's, Eaton Posi,CAI, Alum. Drvsft, 3.73's Nitto 555r's 473RWHP/452RWTQ and a maxed out Visa to go with the pissed off wife.


07SCGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:56 PM   #32
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Just an shadetree CET on the side?
What type of devices do the amps you run use for the input buffering
you mention?
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:56 PM   #33
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Oh yea, you can leave the one with the most toys wins attitude at the door.
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:58 PM   #34
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

R U BMOC in your parts?
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:06 PM   #35
07SCGT
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location:
Posts: 497
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 157db

R U BMOC in your parts?
what's BMOC, sorry I'm not hip on the lingo so I can't answer you.

As far as input buffering, not sure what your talking about (power conditioning or signal)
Power conditioning I have Yellowtop Optima rated 850 CC amps, 00 gauge wiring, going into 4 1farad caps.
Signal buffering My source is a kenwood excelon with 5 volt output going into a 13 band Alpine EQ. Italso keeps thevoltage to 5volts on the RCA's. Which is perfect for my PPI's which can only handle 5volts on the input.
__________________
Saleen SC, JBA, Granatelli CA's, Eaton Posi,CAI, Alum. Drvsft, 3.73's Nitto 555r's 473RWHP/452RWTQ and a maxed out Visa to go with the pissed off wife.


07SCGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:35 PM   #36
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

The actual semiconductor devices for the audio inputs.
What chip does your PPIs use to buffer the audio inputs.
You stated that your amps dont allow ground thru
the audio inputs. How do your amps go about
doing this.
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 11:22 PM   #37
Aziraphale
4th Gear Member
 
Aziraphale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Black GT
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,459
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

OK guys, relax, there is no need to have an argument here. We get it, 157db, you like your car audio and obviously at least know something about it. I do believe I stated this wasn't supposed to be an advanced install. This was mainly to show routing of wires and how I did mine. If you guys want to argue about little nit pick things, take it to a new thread. There is no reason to junk up this one. I was just trying to help out some poeple and give ideas.

As for answering your question, after I ran the power wire, I connected it and the ground tab to the multimeter. It pulled 12v through so I just let it be. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't some stupid tab that wasn't actually grounded. It was grounded, so I moved on with life. I dont' hear any whine or anything so I'm ok with it.

For the record, I called you a basher because that's exactly what you did. You bashed the setup without following it up with info on why. I have no need for that, it's useless to everyone. Follow it up with good info and I have no problem eating my own words. No need for an e-**** swinging contest here.
__________________



35% Tint, GT500 rear spoiler, 3dCarbon Front Lip
Corsa Crew Member
Aziraphale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 06:52 AM   #38
mygt500
Multi-Tasking Moderator!
 
mygt500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Vehicle: 2006 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Detroit Rock City!
Posts: 15,614
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

I agree with both of you and it is a very viable option and a rather easy one and the wire will be protected very well. Thanks for the write up it is great and 07SCGT I love the last part of the sig ...and a maxed out VISA! Same here and working 60+ hours a week to beat the Joneses and my own time line for everything on this beast! JMO j
Quote:
ORIGINAL: 07SCGT

Quote:
ORIGINAL: lundis

im going to disagree with your methods, but i may be talking out of my *** since i do not yet owna mustang (waiting for 08)

i NEVER install power wires through the wheel well. ive seen too many wires corrode and cause shorts (and therefore, fires) from that. i always run it through the firewall, through the main grommet. if there is no grommet (im not sure on a mustang...but most newer cars have one) then i drill one. this is a difficult method, and best left to pros, but the RIGHT way to do it.
I had my stereo professionally done and they used 00 guage which is the size of your thumb. They too did exactly what this tutorial said (which is go through the whell well behind the cover and punch through the main gromet. Yes they too used a wire loom to house the power cable.

Nice write up BTW. If I had more time and energy after working the 60Hours + a week I would have done it myself, I used to love doing this as a kid. Thank god for sabbaticals, mine coming up this year.....
__________________

2006 Mustang GT with Cervinis Kit
Whipple Crew member
H.O. S/C 465 RWHP and 440RWTQ



link to Michigan regional chapter

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3342086

www.mocsem.com
mygt500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 10:46 PM   #39
Bmr4life
5th Gear Member
 
Bmr4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Vehicle: 2011, Ford, Mustang
Location: ATL
Posts: 2,953
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

Awesome write up. Luckily my amp has built in speaker line inputs so I didn't have to use the RCA adapter. I'm still trying to figure out how my mount my sub box.
__________________
Gone->05 GT JCT II CAI, Pypes Long Tube Headers, Pypes H, Pypes m80s, Mac Axle Backs, Detroit Rockers, 4.10's, Omega Godspeed 20s.

Gone->11 Red Candy Metallic Mustang GT/CS Auto 13.284 @ 107.44 (DA Corrected 12.809 @ 111.502)
Bmr4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 11:17 PM   #40
MELLOWYELLOW06
6th Gear Member
 
MELLOWYELLOW06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Vehicle: MELLOW
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,547
Default RE: How To: Amp Install (w/ Pics! 56k warning)

157, you obviously know a bit about car electronics and stereo but you need to lighten up a bit. In almost all your posts you come at people with some sort of rage. Whats with you man? If you got something to share, as you obviously have some good and valid points, try and word it in a way that people who spent time writing up a valuable post wont feel unappreciated and attacked. Like I said earlier, you had some valid points, but after a few disrespectful posts, I just skipped over the rest of your posts and started to lose interest in an otherwise intersting thread, especially now that I myself am getting interested in adding something (audio) to my car.
__________________
MELLOWYELLOW06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 11:17 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1000, 1000w, 500, amplifier, amps, california, cord, install, installation, instruction, mustang, place, power, radio, remove, shaker, stock, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up aftermarket amp/subs thenatural 2005 - 2014 Mustangs 10 08-21-2009 12:08 PM

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup