Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do you manually shift your automatic?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2007, 09:04 AM
wthalliii
3rd Gear Member

Default Do you manually shift your automatic?

I've been manually shifting my automatic when I'm in heavy traffic so I can use engine deceleration. Anyone else doing this?

BTW, a question for you transmission experts - it won't hurt the transmission will it?
Old 07-12-2007, 09:31 AM
Gene K
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Do you manually shift your automatic?

Im not an expert. But my understanding is you need to give it some throttle before downshifting and then let off after the shift. Downshifting where the trans takes the force of the deceleration during the shift is what causes the issues (or so I have been told)
Old 07-12-2007, 09:44 AM
grampa_stang
4th Gear Member

I manually shift, but not ALL the time. Whoever voted that manually shifting will hurt the tranny is wrong.
Unless of course you downshift into 1st when you're doing over 50mph. I've actually found that these
trannys won't even let you downshift into a lower gear unless you're in a acceptable RPM range. A
tune may change that. These trannys are a little smarter thatthe old turbo 400's. I can tell you this,
speed-shifting your manualcauses much more wear 'n tear on the clutch than manually shifting an
auto would do to it's internals.
Old 07-12-2007, 09:44 AM
acascianelli
5th Gear Member

Although I have a manual, if I had an automatic I wouldn't. I can't imagine its good for the transmission to do it.
Old 07-12-2007, 09:53 AM
POWERS
2nd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: grampa_stang
Whoever voted that manually shifting will hurt the tranny is wrong.
I voted that, because there is no option just for no. So i imaigne most others did too.
Old 07-12-2007, 10:01 AM
06GT4RAD
5th Gear Member