headlights dim/flicker after new stereo install. - MustangForums.com


2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2008, 11:48 PM   #1
miloman
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
miloman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 563
Default headlights dim/flicker after new stereo install.

I just installed a Pioneer DEH-P5000UB stereo last weekend, and I will admit it really woke the Shaker 1000 system up........sounds great compared to stock. However, if I have the volume cranked up, I notice the headlights flicker and dim and little when the bass hits, they don't completely flick on and off, just a noticeble dimming. Would a compacitor solve the problem? Maybe look at getting a new battery or alternator? I'm just not sure what's going on, and I''m far from an electrical engineer.

I used the PAC wiring harness that Crutchfield sells, relatively easy and a self explanatory install.
miloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 11:51 PM   #2
Texotic
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 2,179
Default

you're drawing too much power. i think a capacitor would take care of it, but wait for one of the guys that's sure.
Texotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:02 AM   #3
06elnr
5th Gear Member
 
06elnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Alabama *SOAL*
Posts: 2,666
Default

cap will help, but mine still did it after the cap so I had to put in a yellow top optima for my system... come to think of it I took my car in for the airbag up date and they told me I had a bad alt so they replaced it to... try the cap first then the battery if that doesnt do it alt time!
06elnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:15 AM   #4
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

I assume this occurs at or near idle. Your alternator can't keep up with the demand and your battery probably isn't quite up to snuff to pick up where the alternator is falling short. Adding a new or even a larger capacity battery is only a temporary fix. Have your alternator load tested but you may want to consider a higher output replacement alternator. A capacitor might help but again, I don't think that's the permanent fix. It's good that we don't see UDP's in your sig since they would add to the problem.
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:24 AM   #5
miloman
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
miloman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 563
Default

I does it worse at idle, but it also does it driving at 45 mph, haven't tried freeway speeds yet.

Negative on the UDP's.......don't have them.

Autozone should be able to check the alternator load correct?

Are there H/O alternator's available for our cars?
miloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:35 AM   #6
tire31539
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 321
Default

A cap is just a bandaid, and is really not a good investment. You might try the big 3 upgrade. here's a link to that if you don't know what that is. http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...TID~73496~PN~1

If that doesn't help, then you'll move onto a higher amperage producing alternator and/or a battery equipped for higher current draw, such as an optima yellow top. These are very costly though, and are really only necessary for high powered a/v systems and other high drain electronics, and I don't think the factory shaker 1000 would qualify as that.
tire31539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:37 AM   #7
tire31539
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 321
Default

What I meant by that last part is I'm not discouraging you from upgrading your electrical system by any means, in fact I think it's worthwhile, but the dimming lights don't bother some people enough to warrant spending that large sum of money. The issue of dimming lights after installing an aftermarket stereo is actually very common.

yes, autozone or advance or o'reilly's or whatever your preferred local parts shop will be able to test your alternator. I'm sure that high amp. alternators are being produced for the S197, but I personally don't know where to purchase one, hopefully someone who does will chime in.

Last edited by tire31539; 10-23-2008 at 12:39 AM.
tire31539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 01:59 AM   #8
lrgnation
4th Gear Member
 
lrgnation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 1,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tire31539 View Post
A cap is just a bandaid, and is really not a good investment. You might try the big 3 upgrade. here's a link to that if you don't know what that is. http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...TID~73496~PN~1

If that doesn't help, then you'll move onto a higher amperage producing alternator and/or a battery equipped for higher current draw, such as an optima yellow top. These are very costly though, and are really only necessary for high powered a/v systems and other high drain electronics, and I don't think the factory shaker 1000 would qualify as that.
spot on.

Upgrade the following

Positive battery cable to alternator positive
Engine ground to Chassis ground
Chassis Ground to Battery Ground. Use the minimum of 4ga in addition to the stock ground.

If this doesn't help
You need to upgrade to a yellowtop or kinetik battery.
If you are still having issue's you need a High amp alt. 200 minimum. www.excessiveamperage.com i believe makes good ones. Theres other companies just depends on the pricing. but battery and big 3 like reccomend. Alt would cost you like 400$
lrgnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 04:26 AM   #9
mygt500
Multi-Tasking Moderator!
 
mygt500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit Rock City!
Posts: 15,617
Default

Great info and I will try this on my 6 yr old DD before I do this to the stang.... thanks for the links guys!

Last edited by mygt500; 10-23-2008 at 04:28 AM.
mygt500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 05:24 AM   #10
nmd55
3rd Gear Member
 
nmd55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 963
Default

what about switching to HIDs. Dont they draw less current?
nmd55 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on one piece headlights... StalkerGT 5.0L General Discussion 19 11-28-2015 04:09 PM
Airlift Airride digital complete kit Lethaldosage423 Parts For Sale 1 10-19-2015 01:12 AM
Outer shock tower braces guitarman376 Classic Mustangs (Tech) 6 10-11-2015 02:47 AM
Rear Package Shelf jrrhd73must Classic Mustang General Discussion 2 10-02-2015 10:17 PM
better way to attach headlights Drastang 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 3 09-29-2015 04:31 PM


Tags
2006, 2008, aftermarket, bass, dim, dimming, fix, flicker, headlight, headlights, idle, install, lights, mustang, playing, problem, stereo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.