Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shaker 500 Pinout for i-Pod

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2009, 09:42 PM
GTGallop

Default Shaker 500 Pinout for i-Pod

Hey! Noob here. Shoot me if this isn't the right location. I've been searching this site and many others regarding the location and parts to hook up an i-Pod adaptor. Some of the messages get close to the answer I need, but don't quite go all the way.

The adaptor I have has RCA jacks on it (from Best Buy). When I pulled the Shaker out it only had ford wiring harnesses. Damn Henry! Any who... Here are my specific questions:

1. Can it be done? Can I hook an AUX i-Pod controller in?
2. Can it be done with what I have?
3. Do I need new/additional parts?
4. What would those parts be if needed?
5. Tips? Tricks? Pointers? Ideas? Helpful Suggestions?

Many thanks in advance!
Old 06-27-2009, 11:20 PM
UpTo11
3rd Gear Member

It's called ISimple. I want one, but they're not cheap. They allow you to play music from your Ipod/Mp3 player and control it from your system. I think they're at best buy. I'd buy one myself, but I'm saving for a Roush conversion.
Old 06-28-2009, 12:30 AM
Kotobuki
3rd Gear Member

To hook up an iPod, or any AUX input for that matter, in an 05/06 you will need to purchase an aftermarket kit which includes a new wiring harness (that plugs in between your current harness and the Shaker head unit) and a control box (for lack of a better term) that will take the output from your iPod and turn it into something the car can use and (for the more advanced systems) allow the radio controls to control the iPod.

There is no where on the head unit itself for you to plug an AUX input into.