Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

procharger question...

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2009, 12:16 PM
mac10chap
4th Gear Member

Default procharger question...

please forgive my ignorance as i dont really know much about superchargers, i'm new to all of this.

Do all centrifugal superchargers require you to cap off your PCV hose from the crankcase to the intake? Procharger supplied two caps with my kit. One is for the driver's side valve cover and the other is for the connection on the intake.

i kinda figured that the crankcase needed to breathe but what do i know? i figured i could put an open filter on the valve cover instead of the cap but wouldnt it blow oil everywhere once the pressure started building up in the crankcase?

any suggestions???
Old 09-17-2009, 01:31 PM
Sp3kter
1st Gear Member

I sugges getting a catch can and putting a breather filter on the exit side of the catch can.
Old 09-17-2009, 01:36 PM
mac10chap
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Sp3kter
I sugges getting a catch can and putting a breather filter on the exit side of the catch can.

that is definately an option. i am taking it back to my tuner today and he wants to look at it and possibly fabricate something that will work since procharger recommends just capping off where the PCV hose once was. i'll let yall know what he comes up with.
Old 09-17-2009, 02:40 PM
brad281
4th Gear Member

Mac, congrats on the new setup. Please let us know how the new found power feels. And any daily driveability issues?
Old 09-17-2009, 03:07 PM
marcuskeeler
5th Gear Member

Catch cans are a good idea but slightly off topic.
To answer your original question, i would suggest that procharger know how to install their own setups. If they say cap them off, then in lieu of any other updates from them to the contrary, cap them off.....