Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FRPP Hot Rod cams installed! Holy crap!

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2009, 01:47 PM
timmbo
3rd Gear Member

Default FRPP Hot Rod cams installed! Holy crap!

Well last night I finished the install, loaded the Brenspeed 91 tune that Dave tailored for these cams, crossed my fingers and hit the key. The engine roared to life on the first crank, and my blood pressure went way down. I have been turning wrenches for 20 years but hey, crap CAN happen! Anyway, whew! After the engine warmed up and idled at 900 rpms it has the suhweeeetest DEEPEST penetrating lope with the axleback stingers and stock cat piping. Because of wet weather last night I had to wait to test drive it today. Man, what a difference I made in the last several weeks from a stock car. Started with the C&L CAI and Brenspeed tune, the 4.10 gears and now the cams. What a beast it is now from stock!!! I'm at the perfect place I wanna be without having to pay 5-7 grand for supercharging. This car is now a blast to drive! I'm glad I went we these cams. No altering the stock system with phasers and suffering lowend torque issues like you get with the Thumpers so I've read.

To Dave at Brenspeed: this tune rocks! No pinging, and Im smoking tires in second so long I have to back off the throttle to get traction!
The only thing I notice now is my stock cats put off more of a stink than they ever did. I'm assuming because of the strategy adjustments with the cams. But anyway, through the entire powerband I'm totally stoked. It runs like a champ! Dave thanks for sending the tune on a Saturday and for all the great customer service and the quickest shipping ever I have received when buying all of my performance parts from you guys!