Search



Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005 - 2014 Mustangs
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

2005 - 2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by Latemodel Restoration


Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2009, 10:53 AM   #11
rford426
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Vehicle: 2005 Mustang GT
Location: OK&TX
Posts: 1,904
Default

I have came pretty close i think i blew the fuse. My plastic around my pins on the tuner is all cracked though i just have to be really careful but glad it was just a fuse
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
__________________

2005 Black GT Manual
Steeda CAI-SCT XCAL-Pypes O/R X pipe-Pypes Mid Mounted M80s-Red Top OPTIMA-HurstSTS-Tein Tech S-AVIC f900bt-Back up Camera-20" Black Chrome FR500s-GT500 FRONT/REAR-Factory GT500 6k HIDS-3k HID Gt500 fogs-
303rwhp/319tq
rford426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:55 AM   #12
Starfire
3rd Gear Member
 
Starfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 2008 Mustang GT/CS
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rford426 View Post
I have came pretty close i think i blew the fuse. My plastic around my pins on the tuner is all cracked though i just have to be really careful but glad it was just a fuse
Yeah my plug is half missing the plastic shield, but it works.
__________________


Mods: Stage 2 Saleen Supercharger, JBA shorties, Catted Prochamber
Powerstick Mid Muffler, 20" Vossen CV1's, BMR LCA's, FRPP Suspension
430RWHP/404TQ - #978 of 1273
Starfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 03:23 PM   #13
08GT4U
2nd Gear Member
 
08GT4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 2008 mustang gt
Location: 305
Posts: 403
Default

i reflash my car almost every weekend.i have a nitrous tune and an n/a tune so when i go to the track(almost every friday)i download my nitrous tune and before i leave i put back my n/a tune.no problems so far in 1 year except i have blown a fuse a couple of times.the only thing i found out is i cannot reload a tune back to back or itll blow the fuse.i have to wait at least 10 minutes between downloads.
__________________
C&l racer intake plus more go fast goodies.work done by REVOLUTION PERFORMANCE.

08GT4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 04:39 PM   #14
7up
2nd Gear Member
 
7up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: '10 GT
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 402
Default

So far ...

Bricked (by an FRPP tuner) -- yet "re-flashable" by Ford: 1
Bricked (by an SCT XCal2) -- yet "re-flashable" by Ford: 1
Erroneous error: 1
Failed to load: 2
Blown fuse: 2

Incorrect vehicle firmware uploaded: priceless


As more input flows in, I'll update this post periodically with results.
__________________
7UP





5 speed / 3.73

Last edited by 7up; 12-23-2009 at 11:36 PM. Reason: Updating replies & details
7up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 08:16 PM   #15
retfr8flyr
3rd Gear Member
 
retfr8flyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Vehicle: 2006 Mustang GT
Location: Providence Forge, VA
Posts: 739
Default

When I first had my SCT XCal2 tune the Ford dealer upgraded my computer during the normal service and that changed the strategy code. When I loaded my tune back in it bricked the computer and the car would not start or return to stock. I had to have the car towed back to Ford and have the computer reflashed then get all new tunes for the new code.


Earl
__________________
Auto, TurboHorspower TT, Ford GT fuel pumps, Circle-D T/C, DSS Drive Shaft, 3.27 gears with Detroit True-Trac, Moser Axles, Wilwood Frt & Rear Brakes and more.
retfr8flyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 08:32 PM   #16
7up
2nd Gear Member
 
7up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: '10 GT
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by retfr8flyr View Post
When I first had my SCT XCal2 tune the Ford dealer upgraded my computer during the normal service and that changed the strategy code. When I loaded my tune back in it bricked the computer and the car would not start or return to stock. I had to have the car towed back to Ford and have the computer reflashed then get all new tunes for the new code.
Interesting.

And I say that because when I first plugged my SCT tuner (an SF3) into my vehicle, it didn't recognize the ECU. Turned out the strategy code wasn't in SCTs tune. They sent me a mini update to resolve it. And the update was minor in that the revised strategy code was the same, except with an added revision letter at the end (i.e., FPBF2a -- or something close to that, I forget off the top of my head.)

But in the meantime, I was not allowed entry into the ECU to do anything.

How long ago did this happen?

Maybe SCT has since modified their tuners to better recgonize unsupported strategies, and consequently not let the tuner go forth with its intended processes.

Dunno though, pure conjecture on my part.
__________________
7UP





5 speed / 3.73

Last edited by 7up; 12-23-2009 at 08:40 PM.
7up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:19 PM   #17
Johnboy7701
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Vehicle: 2008, Mustang, GT
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,417
Default

Switched my tunes at a gas station once and it failed to load... car wouldn't start or anything and I was getting ready for a 1,000 mile trip. I just kept trying over and over and finally got one to load. After that no problems. Also while putting in a new tune I blew a fuse but this was before I knew anything about the blown fuse problem. Jumped on MF and found the answer.... now I always keep a little box of 10amp fuses in my glove box...
__________________
2008 Alloy GT, MT
Gunmetal Foose Nitrous 20", BBK CAI, 93 Bama Race Tune, Hurst STS, FRPP 4.10's, SLP LM, CDC Aggressive, CDC Billet Grill, GT 500 Spoiler, Roush Louvers, 4300k HID's, SOS Duad Pillar Pod with Aeroforce Interceptors, Hidden Trunk Release
2007 GSXR 1000
2006 CBR 600RR
2005 TRX 400EX

Best 1/4 mile: 13.32 @ 104 on stock rubber, 3.31 gears
Best 1/8 mile: 8.53 @ 85 on stock rubber and 4.10 gears
Johnboy7701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 10:38 PM   #18
7up
2nd Gear Member
 
7up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: '10 GT
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnboy7701 View Post
Switched my tunes at a gas station once and it failed to load... car wouldn't start or anything and I was getting ready for a 1,000 mile trip. I just kept trying over and over and finally got one to load. After that no problems. Also while putting in a new tune I blew a fuse but this was before I knew anything about the blown fuse problem. Jumped on MF and found the answer.... now I always keep a little box of 10amp fuses in my glove box...

I was not aware of this blown fuse issue. And apparently I didn't search far/hard enough on MF to find out about it, too.

So this is good to know. If it happened to me without prior knowledge that other's had experienced this, I'd have [******] in my pants!
__________________
7UP





5 speed / 3.73

Last edited by 7up; 12-24-2009 at 11:48 PM.
7up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 11:50 PM   #19
Johnboy7701
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Vehicle: 2008, Mustang, GT
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,417
Default

True, also its located in the fuse panel on the passenger footwell... so quick note to someone who decides to install a fuse away from home... just carry some spares just in case. I think its happened to quite a few people on here...
__________________
2008 Alloy GT, MT
Gunmetal Foose Nitrous 20", BBK CAI, 93 Bama Race Tune, Hurst STS, FRPP 4.10's, SLP LM, CDC Aggressive, CDC Billet Grill, GT 500 Spoiler, Roush Louvers, 4300k HID's, SOS Duad Pillar Pod with Aeroforce Interceptors, Hidden Trunk Release
2007 GSXR 1000
2006 CBR 600RR
2005 TRX 400EX

Best 1/4 mile: 13.32 @ 104 on stock rubber, 3.31 gears
Best 1/8 mile: 8.53 @ 85 on stock rubber and 4.10 gears
Johnboy7701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 08:50 AM   #20
retfr8flyr
3rd Gear Member
 
retfr8flyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Vehicle: 2006 Mustang GT
Location: Providence Forge, VA
Posts: 739
Default

This was in 06, SCT may have built in a fail safe since then I would hope so. I use the racers package now so Ford doesn't touch it any more.


Earl
__________________
Auto, TurboHorspower TT, Ford GT fuel pumps, Circle-D T/C, DSS Drive Shaft, 3.27 gears with Detroit True-Trac, Moser Axles, Wilwood Frt & Rear Brakes and more.
retfr8flyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 08:50 AM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
bench, bricked, cl, dodge, ecu, failsafe, flash, flashing, gt500, ram, sct, tuner, tuners, unsupported, xcal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup