Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installed CMDP

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2010, 09:32 PM
Riptide
6th Gear Member

Default Installed CMDP

Took me a lot longer than it would have any of you I'm sure. Getting the injectors out was a pain in the ***. Took a while to clean up the area around the intake ports on the motor. Drove the car this morning to test. No CEL, seems to run fine. I can't obviously hear any leaks although I'm a newb so I may not notice one if it's there.

My impressions so far. The car feels softer down low. If I'm in 2nd gear lower in the revs it just doesn't have the snap it did before when I'd go WOT. I'm sure there are gains up top but it's a little harder to feel a small high end gain vs. a small low end loss. I'm guessing the fact I'm using an email tune might be responsible for this. Brenspeeds tunes are supposed to be good though so I'm a little puzzled.

Kind of a yawner if you ask me. I sure hope the longtubes don't disappoint like this, especially @ the price they want for them.
Old 03-29-2010, 01:30 AM
kingsofcrunk
3rd Gear Member

I still don't understand how you could feel a loss of power by adding less air restriction to the engine. I mean, maybe you just think you lost power? When I first got my long tubes, I thought I lost power. But when I started timing my runs, I saw noticeable gains. Now I can def tell my car pulls stronger with them. Idk, I just don't know how power would be lost.
Old 03-29-2010, 04:18 AM
howarmat
s197 Junkie

its not loss of power.....its loss of torq
Old 03-29-2010, 04:57 AM
jahudso2
4th Gear Member

In reality, a loss in torque always equals a loss in power at that rpm. If you loose torque at 2500 rpms, then you loose horsepower at 2500 rpms, because horsepower is just torque times engine speed divided by a constant.