Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Undead Saleen - Rebuild Started

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 12:12 AM
siggyfreud
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Warpig12354
It was the person before him.
Apparently the owner before me drove the **** out of it. When someone before me came to look at the car, I guess it still had wheel wells full of rubber. I got on it every now and then (who wouldn't) but I was polite to it because the engine had a tapping noise. I had it checked out under the "warranty" but they kept saying it wasn't anything to worry about. Every time I doubt my own experience and knowledge it comes back to bite me. And each time I've taken a car to a dealership (only under warranty) I ask myself "why am I wasting me time here?" 90% of the mechanics just follow the book and neglect/ignore their own intuition.

I feel like I'm a better mechanic than many of them doing it professionally, and part of this undertaking was to prove to myself (and those "Saleen" mechanics who will probably never know what I've done) that I can fix it as good as the next guy.
Old 11-26-2011, 01:35 AM
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by siggyfreud
Thank you good sir

Stealth, it was running on 4lbs of boost when I blew. If I had to guess, I'd say it was probably more about the RPM's the previous owner probably turned than the 4lbs of boost.
!? 4 lbs.>?!

dang it.. I was planning on running 8 psi on a R2300 indefinitely with my auto..

as you know, the auto isn't exactly rev happy and it shifts on point (6k) so I might not have to worry about over revving.. even when manually shifting, I shift way before redline..
Old 12-28-2011, 07:38 AM
06whipple