Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FML, the V6 is HURT.

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2011, 03:59 PM
CutterWolf
5th Gear Member

Here is another thing along this same line. If someone runs a red light and "you" hit that person as you entered the intersection with a green light your going to be cited for "entering an unsafe intersection" and be at fault. The other guy will be cited for running a red light. Again...I know it sounds totaly unfair but that is how the traffic laws are.
Old 02-13-2011, 04:13 PM
JIM5.0
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by CutterWolf
Nope, traffic laws are clear. The driver turning into the lane is going to be at fault period. I know this since I was a cop for 20 years. The speeder is going to get cited for speed but the driver who entered the lane is going to get cited for an unsafe lane change and be at fault for the crash. I know it does not sound fair but thats the law.
Is that a Federal law? Or is that an Ab law?
I just know that if you can present proof that you executed the lane change and it was clear as you are making the change and the guy hits you, he is at fault.
Now, if you lane change and you hit the guy in the lane because he was in your blind spot, then yes, you are at fault because if you would have looked, you would not have hit him.

In the first case I am describing, the lane changer might be cited, but if taken to traffic court and proved you made the lane change safely and it was clear, the judge would dismiss The citation altogether.

As far as being able to use physical force to stop a verbal assault let me know how that works out for you when you get out of jail. A verbal threat does "NOT" mean you can use physical force to stop it. Here is the reason behine this, a verabal assault can't do damage to property or the person. But like I said, "go ahead and hit him and let me know how you make out"