Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AC Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2011, 09:55 PM
defiance
3rd Gear Member

Default AC Trouble

So its getting hot outside and its time to use ac again. On the way to work today i turned the ac and something just isn't right. First of all, when the ac kicks on the idle drops and makes the whole car vibrate, horribly and i mean bad ( while the car is in gear). Second when the ac kicks on, the click is very loud and it keeps clicking several times within one minute span. Im a noob at the ac system but i think thats the compressor kicking in and out?
The car is a 4.0 auto with 83.000 miles on it. The ac air is not very cold but its no too hot either.
I disconnected the battery and followed the procedure for re-learning the idle, but that did not help any. I did a forum and internet search on this and really have not found a definite answer. Obviously my car has no warranty and i don't have the time right now with school and work to put it in the shop. I need you help guys to diagnose the problem and hopefully fix this with the least amount of money wasted.

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-19-2011, 07:42 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

That could be a number of things but first you need to rule out a malfunctioning AC. If you're getting enough cool air while cruising (or sitting with the idle above 800 - 1000 RPM) then we can probably rule out the AC itself.