AUX input plug??? - Page 2 - MustangForums.com


2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2011, 09:47 AM   #11
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shonole View Post
If only.. But sorry, no.
The only way to have an aux input on the older Shaker's
(05-06) is to use the adapter I linked to above.

And even then, it only supplies RCA inputs.
Ford was definitely behind the times when the S197 debuted!
RCA INPUTS $60
FULL IPOD CONTROL $189

Precision Interface Electronics are no good!!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:36 PM   #12
shonole
2nd Gear Member
 
shonole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 157dB View Post
RCA INPUTS $60
FULL IPOD CONTROL $189

Precision Interface Electronics are no good!!
Agreed! I knew there was another option out there, I just couldn't remember the name.. Trip Tunes it is!

FWIW, I'd still search Craigslist and eBay and see what I could come up with, as you'll have far more options with an aftermarket head unit.
shonole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:50 PM   #13
alkemist
5th Gear Member
 
alkemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pineapple under the Sea
Posts: 3,113
Default

You can buy the PIE adapter cheap. It plugs into a port on the backside of the stereo and then you run a wire to wherever you want to install the aux jack.

I have on the garage.. never got around to doing it yet. You have to take apart the whole center console, remove stereo, etc.
alkemist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 04:04 PM   #14
808muscle
5th Gear Member
 
808muscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Maui
Posts: 4,752
Default

Just swap out the HU. Its really simple to do.
808muscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 07:39 PM   #15
DM797
1st Gear Member
 
DM797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 92
Default

Simple to install and pretty cheap....get the PIE AUX adapter.

I installed this in the spring. You simply take apart the head unit and plug this device in to the current OEM wiring harness. You need to splice the power plug on your center unit for power.

I have little/no experience installing stuff like this but I did it easily with basic tools and the instructions. There are plenty of online tips on the forums also. Few tricky screws on the back side of the center unit, and its a tight fit for your hands unplugging the OEM wire harness but with a little patience you'll have it all done in no time.

here is a link to the PIE device, check around for the best deals - http://www.amazon.com/PIE-FRD04-AUX-...9131152&sr=1-1



*edit - also test the unit for power and sound volume before putting it all back together. always a good tip.
DM797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 11:40 AM   #16
silentbob00
 
silentbob00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 48
Default

I just swamped my Shaker 500 out for a Pioneer. Besides now having iPOD connectivity like the rest of the world, it independently controls the subs in the doors. The factory speakers sound a lot better with a aftermarket head unit.
silentbob00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 05:02 PM   #17
BlackBeauty4.6
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 175
Default

yea ill probly just end up getting an aftermarket HU.. i always wanted a touch screen moniter doubled in.. another huge chunk of change out the door lol.
BlackBeauty4.6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 11:03 PM   #18
Jasoon
2nd Gear Member
 
Jasoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silentbob00 View Post
I just swamped my Shaker 500 out for a Pioneer. Besides now having iPOD connectivity like the rest of the world, it independently controls the subs in the doors. The factory speakers sound a lot better with a aftermarket head unit.
Don't forget the best part. You can put in a 8 gig sd or mini SD card, and load it up with your songs.

Who needs an IPOD or aux adapter now?
Jasoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 01:48 PM   #19
SUPRA88
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 111
Default

We been installing the PIE interface FRD04-AUX for the past 5 years and works great never a problem, no static or engine noise you get with the brandmotion piece
here its the link to the part we use http://www.oemautosound.com/p-43-for...frd04-aux.aspx
SUPRA88 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intake manifold replacement Dokilar 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 15 10-16-2015 09:13 PM
Bad cylinder? Dathan V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 4 10-05-2015 06:52 AM
4r70w torque converter q's guitarman376 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 0 09-30-2015 06:54 PM
Clear codes on '94 sn95 BOB ROME 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 2 09-28-2015 12:10 PM
Slight surge at 1500ish rpm lmurf60 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang 1 09-24-2015 11:07 PM


Tags
04, 05, 2005, 2011, aux, auxillary, car, ford, input, jack, mustang, one, port, put, v6

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.