Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2006 Mustang GT with 68k miles

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2011, 02:59 AM
deputy743

Default 2006 Mustang GT with 68k miles

Ok, I don't know much about cars.... I am wanting to get into a Mustang GT. I've wanted one for quite some time but it really wasn't pratical with my prior job. Now, it is. I can't go get a new 2011 or 2012 due to price.... I'm a cop and the commisioners only like to give themselves raises. Anyway, I'm looking at a 2006 Mustang GT with 68K miles on it. Everything is still stock and it is in very good condition on the outside. The price tag is 15.5k. I do plan on doing some upgrages to it (i.e.. cold air intake, exhaust..). I know there is no way to know the real history of it but is 68k miles ok to start out with or should i just bite the bullet and get a lil newer one?
Old 10-19-2011, 04:42 AM
kput
4th Gear Member

68 isn't too bad. Make sure you check the car out really well. Make sure it's in good shape. Has gotten all of it's maintenance etc.
I'd also try and talk them down on the price if you can. ( pm me for some good tips on that)
Old 10-19-2011, 05:06 AM
robs
3rd Gear Member

If taken care of, they'll live a long and happy life. I never buy new. Let someone else take the depreciation hit... I've got an 06 with 75k on it and only had to replace the pinion seal as the only non-maint item. There's plenty of guys 100k+ here

Think about an 07 or 08 as they're a little less prone to water leaks and some other hickups. Buy from a person and not a dealer and you'll save a ton. You should get a nice one for that price range.
Old 10-19-2011, 06:19 AM
pinn
2nd Gear Member

Pull a carfax and then pull the trigger. I got my 06 for 16k out the door with slightly lower miles and have had no issues other than replacing the battery and a ton of cleaning.
Old 10-19-2011, 09:42 AM
TheYeti
2nd Gear Member