Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Radio question

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2013, 09:49 PM
car_designer

Default Radio question

First, I'm still learning my way around here, so if this is in the wrong area, let me know.

My car is a 2013 Mustang V6 premium with the Pony package.

The radio lens was etched or something from when I picked up the car. I took it back and they replaced the radio display under warranty.

Only thing is the radio now does 2 things I don't remember it doing before they replaced the display.

1) There are 2 vertical lines that light up. See picture below.
2) It seems like the display does not dim with the dash lights, which I thought it did with the original display.

One other thing, which really isn't a problem is that when I start the car, the radio shows "Mustang" before switching to the time/radio info. Did I just miss this for 2 months of driving the car or do some factory radios do it and others don't?

Name:  radio_zps17f2eaa9.jpg
Views: 17
Size:  24.6 KB
Old 04-22-2013, 10:07 PM
DocSnickers
3rd Gear Member

Mine shows Mustang when I first turn it on and it does not dim either. Only the LED controlled sections do which the radio is not connected to.
Old 04-23-2013, 05:54 AM
JimC

Those vertical lines shouldn't be there - and I'm pretty sure my display dims with the dimmer switch and lights. I'll check it today, as well as check for the Mustang in the display. Never noticed it.
Old 04-23-2013, 10:03 AM
amyhughes
1st Gear Member

I just checked: Mine dims with the rest of the dash, it doesn't have those lines, and it doesn't display "Mustang" when I start the car. 2013 V6 Premium with comfort package and pony package.

Maybe they used a display from a different year or maybe your radio has a new ROM version. A bad update, if that's the case.
Old 04-23-2013, 10:05 AM
Matt's 95 Stang
Resident Ginger