Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hopefully helpful tips to new owners like me

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 04:17 AM
dk1ben

Default Hopefully helpful tips to new owners like me

Just thought I would put this out there in an attempt to possibly help other new owners learn from my experience with these cars as I to am a new owner.

Just completed some upgrades and tune up items on my newly purchased 2005 GT. What I did was;

Ford Racing CAI
Ford Racing axle back
Ford Racing Tune
Fuel filter
Oil/Filter change
Spark plugs
Cabin air filter

All in all everything went fine. About two days worth of work for me spending about 4 hours each day on it. I am no seasoned mechanic and a lot of this is new to me so it was a lot of reading and over planning.

Here is some things I learned that may help some while entertaining others.

Even following the TSB you may very well still break a spark plug during removal. My car had the original plugs in it at 63000 miles on the clock. The four on the drivers side fought me hard even with a soak but the all came out complere. The first one on the passenger side, front of engine, broke with one stout twist. After waiting a few days my new fancy Snap-On tool arrived to save the day. The only tricky part for was removing the remaining white chalky stuff inside the remaining plug to make room for the tap. I used a reverse drill head fasioned onto a long extenstion and slowly broke it up. Using some shots of air and then some grease I was able to remove the debre and finally complete the tap removing the plug. Not easy, but if you take your time it can be done. If I can do it, anyone can. Entire process took about an hour as I was very careful to not let anything fall into the cylinder.