Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new to the mustang world

Old 07-07-2013, 05:54 PM
mikefurno

Default new to the mustang world

just picked up my 2007 mustang gt premium for 15k with 47k on it...very clean car. im very new to the mustang world so please bare with me.. what are some common problems with the 07 4.6.. ive been hearing alot about the 2 piece spark plug problems.. what would be some good spark plugs to replace them with... just would like to know the ins and outs of my year mustang.. i have been looking at a tune intake and exhaust for performance what would be a good setup and who would be a good tuner.. im still under warranty so i cant go crazy yet.. like a said before im very new.. i left the diesel world so every is different for me... thank you for your time
Old 07-07-2013, 06:23 PM
pinn
2nd Gear Member

Welcome!

https://mustangforums.com/mustang-ts...V-6.8L-3V.html

You can also search this forum for tons of great info on the spark plug process. I followed the Ford TSB and used PB blaster and I was able to remove all 8 without issue at 65k miles.
Old 07-07-2013, 07:03 PM
SpartaPerformance
4th Gear Member

These cars a very reliable, the 2007 and 2009's being some of the best. Spark plug issue sucks but if you're patient and follow procedures there should be no major issues. As for performance gains you should set a final goal of what you want then work your way there, if you just listen to people here and start throwing parts at it it will cost you more in the long run.
Old 07-07-2013, 07:07 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Check out the laundry list of TSB's associated with these S197's. There are a few which discuss some chronic and significant issues (i.e., water leak, fuel pump...).

Regarding the CAI & tune, Brenspeed and American Muscle are 2 of the most popular tuners on the forums. They write awesome tunes and their customer service is superb.