Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Electric window slow - fix

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2013, 06:08 PM
IB Adrian

Default Electric window slow - fix

Hi,
I am submitting this on behalf of a friend, who had this issue with his Mustang, and was able to find the source of it. He put together a thorough write-up on how to fix it for those encountering the issue.
This was done on an 05 convertible.

Hello All, I am new to the submitting something to a forum but for some time I've used the forums for guidance so I figured I should pay off my debt and submit something.

My Background: Fairly new to working on cars. I am an electrical engineer so I have some skills there.

Problem: Driver side window slow to roll up

Solution: I did many things so it is difficult to isolate what action had the most impact. It wasn’t until my fourth attempt that I got the window to roll up faster. Could be tons of lubrication (white lithium grease and Tri-Flow) but I give it a 50/50 chance it was the motor.

How I did it:
  • Removal of Interior Door Panel
  • Removal, Inspection, and cleaning of Window Motor
  • Reinstallation of Window Motor & Lubrication
  • Additional Lubrication
  • Reassemble the door

Removal of Interior Door Panel

To remove the interior door panel you will need:
  • A T-30 Torx Driver
  • A 7 mm socket (preferably with a slim profile ratcheting driver)
  • A small flathead screwdriver
  • Needle Nose Pliers

Removal:

1. Pull the side mirror control module off with your hands (pull out horizontally) and disconnect the electrical harness

2. Remove the plastic plate behind the door lever (you can use the small flathead screwdriver and pry from the lower left corner)

3. Remove the T-30 screw from the door lever

4. Use a flathead screwdriver to pull off the plastic cover behind the door handle. Be mindful of the tabs on the cover and make sure they do not to pull on the vinyl.