Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How can I save gas?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2014, 08:06 AM
Chromeshadow
3rd Gear Member

I'm an engineer, I'm not interested in uncontrolled observations.
Let me guess, masters in electronics, mechanics, aeronautics and always being smarter than everyone else? Guess what, you are not the only engineer on this website.
It's typical of you to take a position and cherry pick the questions that you answer and expect to convince us that you are the only one who is always right on all of the subjects.
Btw, the only mod I've seen you mention is the installation of the $600 Alpine Radio in your Ranger which sounded "screechy". Have you tried a K&N Filter?
Btw, buying a K&N saves me from buying 5 or 6 paper filters over the life of my cars, so it saves cash in filters.
If I was an OE I might argue that it''s better to buy new filters from the Factory and not from K&N.

Last edited by Chromeshadow; 08-23-2014 at 08:08 AM.
Old 08-23-2014, 08:32 AM
outceltj
5th Gear Member

Buy a Prius
Old 08-23-2014, 10:19 AM
JIM5.0
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by cruisin5268d
For what it is worth I smell what you're shoveling.

People on this site are obsessed with aftermarket air intakes. Once someone overpays $300 - $400 for a plastic tube they want to believe it is giving them l33t horsepower and uber torque.
You are correct; aftermarket CAIs do very little, if anything, to increase power or fuel economy.
It's a common misconception that floats around and refuses to die.

What DOES increase power, and in certain cases fuel economy also, is the TUNE that goes with the CAI.
Alot of new people to the pony car scene always appear to fall for the misconception that the CAI itself gives power and completely disregard the TUNE that comes with the CAI.