Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How can I save gas?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2014, 11:39 AM
Gary Ugarek
4th Gear Member

I love a good debate avbout engineering and controlled testing.

I am an Engineer.

Old 08-26-2014, 02:23 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Hmm.. I've read most of the posts with much amusement. Not because one post is more correct than the other but because something is painfully missing from the consideration that has been brought up indirectly to one degree or another by both sides.

Opportunity cost.

If it costs you say $300 for a CAI to save 1-2 mpg per gallon. But then it takes the course of 2-4 years or more to make up for the cost. You haven't saved anything, you just broke even. You are started off $300 in the hole when you bought it.

So in essence you saved nothing.

Here's some better advice, use the cash to buy a share of tech stock and sit on it for a couple years. At least at the end you'll have something tangible that actually increased in value instead of broke even (unless you didn't research before you bought )

BTW, I hear turbonators help to atomize the fuel better thereby making the burn more efficient and allowing a more complete and more clean combustion. Thereby increase MPG by 2-4 mpg.... I sell them from my igloo in the middle of Times Square.

P.S. I have my space age fire proof suit on so nanny-nanny-boo-boo, I'm rubber you're glue whatever you say, bounces off of me and sticks to you!

Last edited by Derf00; 08-26-2014 at 02:25 PM.
Old 08-26-2014, 02:33 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Wink

Originally Posted by Derf00
Hmm.. I've read most of the posts with much amusement. Not because one post is more correct than the other but because something is painfully missing from the consideration that has been brought up indirectly to one degree or another by both sides.

Opportunity cost.