Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust, Headers, what do I need to know?

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2014, 12:09 PM
ThaiCobra
3rd Gear Member

Default Exhaust, Headers, what do I need to know?

So I'm looking into exhaust and/or headers for my 07mustang GT.

My goals are: (1) to add a little more power and (2) to create a low throaghty rumble, I DO NOT WANT anything loud or obnoxious, just a nice low rumble to the car, something subtle, but with a little more kick than the stock X-pipe.

What are you guys thoughts/opinions? Total noob here, so all advice is appreciated, thanks!

Also, is tuning a part of this process? Do i need to break out the tuner and retune the engine computer as part of an exhaust/header change?
Old 12-10-2014, 03:25 PM
ghunt
3rd Gear Member

Do you have an axle back already? Any particular headers you're looking at? Doing the install yourself or sending it to a shop?

I love mine, LT's really change the sound of the 4.6. With the headers the exhaust is really bassy and sounds awesome, plus I could feel the power difference.

Be forewarned though that headers, even with a catted midpipe, will be pretty loud. I've heard some people have kept their stock mufflers for a fairly agreeable sound level. Most axle backs are designed to sound good with stock cats, which means that once those are gone they're pretty loud. But you can't go wrong with the sound of headers, an H pipe, and chambered mufflers IMO
Old 12-10-2014, 06:34 PM
cema93
2nd Gear Member

LT headers will give u a great power bump. dont mess with shorty headers.

IMO what opens up the volume the most is when u go from a catted midpipe to an offroad midpipe. This can kinda make it hard to get LT headers because u need a "shorty" midpipe which usually doesnt have catatlytic converters. idk how u would want to go about this.???