Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

traction control?

Old 02-05-2006, 02:19 AM
05gtgreen
2nd Gear Member

Default traction control?

Hello everyone, I am new to the mustang's and the new styling caught my eye. Didn't think i would ever buy a ford, lol. This is the first car I have ever owned with traction control and I was wondering if grinding is alright when the system kicks in? I live in Saskatchewan and we have a bit of snow on the ground and when the car starts to slid a little the light will blink and it will make a little grinding noise and if it keeps slipping it just looses all power. I am just wondering if this "grinding" noise is something to worry about? Thanks for any help, and for the couple of days I have owned the car, all I can say is I love it!
Old 02-05-2006, 02:57 AM
gkosin
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: traction control?

I'm not an expert but the traction control uses the Anti-lock brake system and would modulate the brake to the wheel that has started to spin. In my experiance with the anti-lock brake systems you hear a pulsating type noise as the computer tries to reduce spin. On the new mustang I think I have herard that since the throttle is a drive by wire that it may reduce throttle as well. Check out the owners manual for all the details.
Greg
Old 02-05-2006, 03:19 AM
Gprice20
1st Gear Member

It's not somthing to worry about. It says in the owners manual that any noise from the brakes you here when the traction contol is activated is normal.
Old 02-05-2006, 03:57 AM
dima4

sam_abuelsamid is a member of this website who worked on the team who developed the traction control system for the 05-06 Mustang. Here's some of the info he wrote in another string:

RE: Driving in Snow Experiances - 12/9/2005 3:02:03 PM

ORIGINAL: wildabouthorses