Notices
2010-current S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2010-2014 S197's

Questions about paint/MF towels

Old 12-07-2010, 07:25 PM
JimmyM
3rd Gear Member

Default Questions about paint/MF towels

Hi, I have some questions for you knowledgeable guys

In the awesome shots of 05xrunner's car, the reflection is almost mirror-like. I was looking at my car a week ago and I realized my paint had a serious orange peel effect. Granted, my car isn't clean right now, but when I look into the paint at an angle, all I see are bumps and unclear reflections.

1. 05xrunner, does your car not have the orange peel effect at all? It looks so damn awesome. Looking at my car, it makes me doubt that any amount of washing or waxing could make it look remotely as good as yours.

2. Is there anyway to get rid of the orange peel effect on my car other than repaint? Can a detail shop remove the effect a certain degree, if not completely? Strapped for cash right now, but I was wondering if there was a reasonably priced method of improving the car's finish.

3. I have a few microfiber towels for drying. After I finish drying my car, I just hang them in my bathroom, which then takes a few days to fully dry. I don't hang the MF towels outside due to the obvious risk of contaminants such as dirt and bugs getting all over them. How do you guys dry your towels? Can I throw them into the dryer? Can I wash them? Is there a recommended way to wash or dry the towels?

Thank you

EDIT: I apologize. I meant to post this in 05xrunner's thread (https://mustangforums.com/forum/2010...ng-pretty.html), but I had multiple tabs open.

Last edited by JimmyM; 12-07-2010 at 07:28 PM.
Old 12-07-2010, 08:53 PM
Teggsan

Orange peel is there to stay, unless you repaint. I have it on my car too, worse than I would like.

For the microfiber towels, just throw them in the dryer.
Old 12-07-2010, 08:53 PM
xenocide
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by JimmyM