Notices
2010-current S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2010-2014 S197's

Seeking Guidance: Tires, Rims and Lowering

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2011, 09:52 AM
VEssen
1st Gear Member

Default Seeking Guidance: Tires, Rims and Lowering

Hello all,

Let me begin by saying: I'm a noob. The extent of my knowledge about cars and mods comes from what I've read here in this forum over the past week. So needless to say, I'm looking for some guidance.

I will want to replace the stock 18" aluminum wheels on my 2012 GT. Appearance of the rims aside, what size is ideal? Do I want larger tires in the rear? Do the rim sizes matter? I want it to look good, but I don't want to detract from the quality of the ride. Smoothness is something that is important to me. I really don't like feeling the bumps in the road. I would also want the car lowered, but don't know the first thing about it.

With all that said, I'd love to hear from all of you as to what you would suggest for tire and rim size, and what to consider when lowering the car, etc.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by VEssen; 07-30-2011 at 10:08 AM.
Old 07-30-2011, 10:29 AM
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert

Keep the same diameter rim and tire sidewall height
and the ride will stay mostly the same.
I dont think that you want staggard fitment.
You really want to keep the revs per mile the same.

Man and I would kill for those 18" rims and you want to get rid of them...
Go figure...

Last edited by 157dB; 07-30-2011 at 10:31 AM.
Old 07-30-2011, 12:14 PM
alan0614
6th Gear Member

Can't speak to wheels and tires - still running stock as VEssen. But I just did add the Eibach Pro's and I love them. 1" in the front and 1.5" in the rear. It now looks like it should have from the factory. Ride quality is much better than I expected, very close to stock. The car sits level now and the gap between the wheel and tire is much smaller.
Old 07-31-2011, 09:07 AM
VEssen
1st Gear Member