Notices
3.7L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about the new engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Is there a diff between 91 octane gas and 91 octane ethanol gas?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2014, 08:45 AM
vegas_
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by WORKISSLOW
I am no expert nor a mechanic, but I have look at several of the arguments for and against alcohol.
Anyways, imagine when you go to the pump to fill up on gasoline and you swipe your ATM or Credit card that most of those dollars will get transferred to some faceless multinational Oil company. I am not here to bash oil companies or profits, I am just saying most of that money you spend is taken out of your local economy. Much of the oil is drilled in other countries, and since the refining capacity in our country is restricted much of the refining is done over seas.
Your post is filled with factual falsehoods. I'll point out just a few with backup:

1) The idea that most oil comes from overseas is OBSOLETE. This may have been true in 2000, but NOT in 2014. We will be self sufficient with oil this year, and be a net exporter of oil in 5 years.
http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/fea...514713250.html
http://www.cnbc.com/id/101087815

2) You cannot overcome the chemistry, A gallon of Ethanol only contains 2/3 of the BTU's of gasoline. (76,000 vs. 115,000) you will need 30 gallons of Ethanol to get you as far as 20 gallons of gasoline.
http://zfacts.com/p/436.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_gallon_equivalent
If Ethanol was so great, the free market would support it, but the facts are it's simply not economic, so it must be supported by subsidies and political force.
Old 01-08-2014, 03:40 PM
WORKISSLOW
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by vegas_
Your post is filled with factual falsehoods. I'll point out just a few with backup: