Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

'65 Mustang Front Suspension and Brake Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2007, 09:30 PM
VintageBlue
1st Gear Member

Default '65 Mustang Front Suspension and Brake Upgrade

I was going to start on this little project this weekend and was hoping to get some tips and tricks for removing the suspension. Since I am pretty much replacing everything, I was hoping there was a trick out there to remove multiple components at once....like maybe compressing the spring and taking it out (or putting a spring compressor on the spring to hold its position), then removing the a-arms/spindle as a whole? Don't know if that is even possible, just thought I would ask for some seasoned pro's opinions on the subject. Any advice on this mod would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 07-25-2007, 12:06 AM
JMD
6th Gear Member

Default RE: '65 Mustang Front Suspension and Brake Upgrade

I can't say that I am a seasoned pro at Mustang suspension work, but it is a breeze. Just watch out for the coil spring, and the stuff comes apart right now,once you ge the spring out, you can leave a lot of it together by removing the control arms, strut rods, and tie rod endsfrom their connections to the car, and removing basicly the whole side in one unit more or less, but unless you areplanningon changingthe spindles, you just as well take it all apart on the car.... IMO anyway....

If you plan on chunking everything, it will go faster if you take stuff apart as little as possible, but I dont think you can buy new spindles, so....

If you plan on using your existing spindles, it will be easier to take them off while they are attached to a solid foundation, with this foundation being the car itself.

I hope your project goes well!!!
Old 07-25-2007, 12:28 AM
66JameStang
4th Gear Member