Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Newbie here and I need an education.

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 12:14 AM
Rupp
3rd Gear Member

Default Newbie here and I need an education.

I've read in several posts about throttle lag. What exactly is this? My V6 seems anemic and I'm looking for a way to get a little more power. I've read about these Cold Air Intakes and I'm confused. Can some of these be easy replacements for the existing air intake with out any "computer" changes? Do some of them require "computer" changes? As you can see I'm a total beginner so thanks in advance for the education.
Old 08-28-2006, 12:32 AM
BlueStang6
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie here and I need an education.

I recommend you visit this post first. It will give you quite a bit of information and answer some of your questions.

https://mustangforums.com/m_1189936/tm.htm

Hope this helps and welcome to the forums!
Old 08-28-2006, 12:36 AM
Britinastang
2nd Gear Member

I can give you a basic answer and then maybe one of our more learned members can follow up with the tech stuff.
The throttle lag is due to the fact the throttle is "fly by wire" so no mechanics but computer controlled.
The cold air intakes that require a tune (the ones I would recommend) typically expand the diameter of the intake so that more air can come into the engine, quicker and less rescticted by that huge stock air box. They also have a v.good filter again to improve air intake overall. The more air and cooler air into the engine the better (not sure why exactly).