Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Contemplating duals

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2006, 12:09 AM
jittie
1st Gear Member

Default Contemplating duals

Right now I have a single Flowmaster American Thunder axle-back, but recently I have been considering going to duals for the looks and the little extra sound, plus duals seem to be a little deeper than the single.

For those with duals, did you get a shop to custom make an additional pipe for you, or buy a kit? I've seen a few people who have bought GT pipes, and I'm wondering what those will run me, and where to get them. Also does anyone know if there is a place that will sell only the driver side axle-back American Thunder, or am I going to have to buy a GT kit and sell the passenger side muffler?

And if anyone is in the Tampa / Sarasota area, know of any decent shops in the area?
Old 08-31-2006, 01:34 AM
Miami Mustang
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Contemplating duals

I just bought the whole thing, no custom fabrication needed (magnaflows) and installed it myself. If you are talking about dual GT takeoffs those are cheap, you might have to have an H or X pipe custom made to do it but there's nothing wrong with doing that. As for the driver side American Thunder, I think you're screwed there sorry lol.
Old 08-31-2006, 01:47 AM
|UCF|chron
2nd Gear Member

i went to a shop and they made a ustom x-pipe and installed everything nicely. duals r definatyl the way to go
Old 08-31-2006, 10:15 PM
jittie
1st Gear Member

ORIGINAL: |UCF|chron

i went to a shop and they made a ustom x-pipe and installed everything nicely. duals r definatyl the way to go
So did they custom bend the piping to make it true duals, or did you have to buy a set of dual pipes? Like can I buy GT pipes and have them installed on my car to make it true duals, or do I have to have a shop custom make me something?