Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

exhaust questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2016, 02:13 PM
lukemcnally

Default exhaust questions

i have an 05 v6 and im still new to modding. im only in high school, but i want to get a true dual exhaust. i was looking on summit and came across this x-pipe. just about everything on my stang is stock. i have a cold air intake but i want to tune it after i get the dual exhaust. if i purchase this dual exhaust, what else do i need besides mufflers? will my headers work with this? please let me know. also im not rolling around in $$ so if there are cheaper alternatives, im open minded

thank you

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/pye-xfm44/overview/
Old 03-27-2016, 03:06 PM
lukemcnally

another question... what would it take to put on a whole stock gt exhaust system? i have a mechanical side and if i need to fab, i do mig weld pretty well.
Old 03-27-2016, 05:09 PM
Siber Express
3rd Gear Member

I used that X-pipe, the left GT Over axle pipe and a set of GT mufflers on mine. You will also need the Hangers for the left muffler http://www.americanmuscle.com/pypes-...s-hangers.html
Old 03-27-2016, 05:13 PM
JimC

You will need to get the clamps that change from the 2.25" down tubes to the 2.5" - just like you have now on the passenger side where the down tube mates up. You can use your existing passenger side mid/over-axle pipe because it is the same as on the GT.

Getting the GT exhaust is almost plug and play. I had the X pipe welded on to my down tubes (after the cat I am talking about).

Cut your bumper for the driver side muffler - very easy to do.
Old 03-27-2016, 05:16 PM
JimC