4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Bolt-On Part testing on dyno, for all to read

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 12:30 AM
BlackMage
5th Gear Member

Default Bolt-On Part testing on dyno, for all to read

Ok, im currently a student at the Universal Technical Institute in Chicago, IL. Im currently enrolled in a street legal performance class, where I have the chance to work on an 02 Mustang GT, 5 spd. The car has 45000 miles on it. The color is gunmetal, and is completely stock when i start.

Alright, Day 1, we tested the car with a 5-Gas machine, we are running a little lean but nothing that will hurt the stang. I have two exhaust leaks where the stock h-pipe connects to the mufflers, enough to hcange the O2 output on the 5-gas but opnce again, nothing going to hurt the stang. I checked all fluid levels, rear differential fluid, brake fluid, power steering fluid, engine oil, transmission fluid, and engine coolant. I also went through the car with a Modis scanner and made sure there were no codes in the system.

Once all completed i put the stang on the Dyno. We use a Dynojet system. We baselined the car at 221 Horsepower and 254 Ft/Lbs Torque. We did a second run to make sure it was accurate and came up with numbers of 218 Horsepower and 251 Ft/Lbs Torque. Ok accurate enough.

There are numerous mods i will be performing and testing on the Dyno within the next two weeks on the mustang. Some of them include as simple as changing an air filter, taking off the air box, or as big as NOS and also a Vortex supercharger. There will also be exhaust modifications, seen as how this is a street legal course, we will have a chance to add high flow cats and will be able to change out to different mufflers.