4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

1st gear tips/tricks?

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2006, 05:13 PM
HamMach1
5th Gear Member

Default 1st gear tips/tricks?

Is there a good way to reduce the bogging and jack rabbiting in first gear (remember im still an amateur with manual)? I dunno if im holdin the clutch in too long or what
Old 11-23-2006, 05:15 PM
GodAmGT00
5th Gear Member

Default RE: 1st gear tips/tricks?

The jack-rabbitting, or what I believe you're referring to, is called wheel hop... Usually, it comes from overly soft suspension, and some moderate grip on your tires..

Worst part is, it can break a bunch of expensive parts, if you don't control it.. That's where suspension mods come in to play..

The bogging is just you, getting used to your RPM band.. You'll get it eventually.. It takes practice; it's not something you can just wake up w/..

JT
Old 11-23-2006, 05:16 PM
Jaybird79
4th Gear Member

I'm in the same boat as you., but first gear seems to be easiest for me. The best thing I recommend is giving it gas before you start releasing the clutch then you have a better indictator of when it's catching, and then you let up on the gas, and slowly release the clutch completely. Never hurts to give it extra gas., whereas if you don't give it enough gas you sputter and bog.

My biggest challenge is the 1-2 shift. If I granny it I can do it smoothly, but I can't do it in a smooth quick motion yet. It's frustrating, but then again I've only been driving stick for 3-4 weeks.
Old 11-23-2006, 05:37 PM
HamMach1
5th Gear Member

Ha yeah. Well see actually my problem when Im in first gear is that I do give it a lil gas right before I let off the clutch and when I lightly hold the clutch while the car gets moving nothing happens really but then when I finally let off the clutch, it just sort of bounces once.
Old 11-23-2006, 05:45 PM
mvr
6th Gear Member