4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

How NX works, basic N2O info

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2007, 07:40 PM
01GT4.6
6th Gear Member

Default How NX works, basic N2O info

I'm sure I could have posted this in Pipes, Boost & Juice, but there are a lot of questions here about nitrous and this thread will be technical so I figured this is a good place for it.

If anyone would like to add to it feel free.

I've been running NX for about 4 years with great success, I'm sure between myself, and other nitrous user this can be a veryinformative thread.
This is how my system works:
1st thing is I make sure I have premium fuel in the car!
I open the bottle and check that the pressure is in the GREEN (between 900-1100 psi).
I arm the system but turning the activationswitch on
I make sure everything is good (traction control off, on good dry straight surface, etc)
I push the gas pedal to the floor, which trips the wide open throttle (WOT) switch
Once the rpms reach 3k (my window switch is set for 3k on and 6k off) and the fuel pressure safety switch (FPSS) varifies I have the right fuel pressure it sprays a NITROUS and FUEL (wet kit)
When it time to shift I let off the gas (releasing the WOT switch and turning the N2O off until I complete the shift and floor it again.
I repeat the shifting untill I am done with the race, then turn the activation switch off. If I don't plan on running again soon, I close the bottle and purge the line to release the pressure.

Basically I make sure the bottle pressure and the roads are good, arm it and drive like I would in a normal race, all the safety equiptment does everything for me!

I have the NX Gen X 2 safety kit and suggest that if you want to have a "safe" system buy the safety stuff!