4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Noob oil change question

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2009, 01:50 AM
StriderTacticaL
4th Gear Member

Default Noob oil change question

Ok it's about time for an oil change and this time I've decided to start doing it myself...but I've never done it before so I have some questions...

Firstly is the drain plug the nut screw I see on the left hand side of my oil pan?

And secondly, am I suppose to take off the oil filter by hand? Also my dad said I am suppose to coat the gasket on the new filter with oil and then twist it on by hand until it sits snug and then give it a 1/4 to 1/2 a turn...and not tighten it as much as I can, is that true?

Also does it matter what kind of filter I should be using? I've been using mobil 1 since I've owned the car, should I just stick with that?

Thanks,
Brandon
Old 04-08-2009, 02:45 AM
0949er
4th Gear Member

your drain plug is on the bottom of the oil pan, you cant miss it.

as far is taking off your oil filter, you *should* be able to do it by hand, depending on how tight the guy before you put it on. If its too hard to turn, you can either get yourself a filter wrench, or drive a screwdriver through the bottom and use that for leverage (very nasty and should be a LAST resort option)

your dad is right about how much to tighten. a general rule of thumb is tight enough so it wont leak, but also so you can get it back off again

as far as filters go, you can use about any (as long as its made for your specific car)
Old 04-08-2009, 02:57 AM
sweger
3rd Gear Member

the drain plug is the bolt on the side of the oil pan

try to take it off by hand, if that doesnt work try a filter wrench, and if it is a particularly stubborn bastard of a filter. use some channel locks. the condition of the old filter is moot.