4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.
Old 10-08-2015, 01:40 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Steering & Suspension Guides
Print Wikipost

98 Ford Mustang Ball Joint Replacement

Old 01-22-2010, 07:51 PM
Bithmus

Default 98 Ford Mustang Ball Joint Replacement

Hello,

I'm very new to car repair, but I try to give everything ago. It appears that I need a new Ball Joint on my 98 Ford Mustang. I did a lot of research online and watched many youtube videos that make it look easy. Not too much worse than replacing my rotors and brake pads.

I went to a car parts store and talked to someone about the process. He tells me that I need to get a spring compressor or the control arm will fall down and the spring will come flying out and kill me. This must be why they say to support the control arm with a jack? Is this really a safe method of changing the ball joint?

Thanks!
Old 01-24-2010, 01:49 PM
Sap
4th Gear Member

You will need to put a jack under the lower control arm or the spring will push it down. As far as flying out and killing you, no, that's just ridiculous.

You'll see that the coil puts downward pressure on the control arm, so that's why you need to counteract it with a jack or a jack stand before you unbolt the strut assembly.
Old 01-24-2010, 03:02 PM
4.698GT
4th Gear Member

Jack car up and place jackstands underneath frame rails
Remove wheels, brakes and steering knuckle and abs sensor(t8 or t10 torx socket)
Place jack underneath control arm but not under ball joint.
Hammer balljoint out. (jack will keep control arm from moving down.)
Tap new balljoint in slightly with a little grease around the outer edge to ease install.
Place jack underneath ball joint and hammer control arm down till ball joint is fully seated.(jack will keep ball joint from moving down)