4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

I want more torque. Please advise me.

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2005, 09:47 PM
Stever

Default I want more torque. Please advise me.

I'm still new to the game of upgrades. I have a 2004 GT and so far I have put in a K&N filler, 3.73 gears, and a Diablo chip. But I still want more power. I think what I really want is more torque, you know, that quick 0-60 rush. Anyway, I would really like to get a supercharger but money is a little tight right now. I've been thinking of getting a cold air intake, having headers put on, and redoing the exhaust w/cat backs and the works. But even that will cost a lot to have done. About twenty four hundred I believe. If I need to wait and save my money for a super charger I will but basically my questions are of this nature: Will headers, cold air intake, and exhaust really make a difference? Will it help my gass mileage or make it worse? Will it be a waste of money and should I just save my money to get a supercharger. You know, they say that chargers these days are made to work w/your stock exhaust. I think if I could just get my car to "feel" like a Mach1 or 2001 Cobra I would be satisfied. I look forward to your answers.
Old 08-16-2005, 10:28 PM
97slobra
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: I want more torque. Please advise me.

you own a mustang... why are u concerned with gas mileage?
Old 08-16-2005, 10:49 PM
sandcracker21
4th Gear Member

think of an engine as a person

wut does a person need to live?

he needs to eat
and he needs to breath

upgrade those too areas of ur engine and you will see gains,

for example, i would get a good quality catback and midpipe right away, you will LOVE the agressive sound, and
will definatly feel a difference in power.

after that, work on how air gets in, forexample, get a CAI, TB, and P. combo

aftet that, i would continue to work on the bolt ons, such as pullys