Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.
Sponsored by Cruizin Concepts


Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2011, 10:42 PM   #1
MyGt03
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Vehicle: 1997 Ford Mustang
Location: canada
Posts: 408
Default SCT 4 Bank "Switch" Question

So I went ahead and bought the SCT 4-bank eliminator chip. Got it from American Muscle a few weeks ago. Anyone run this?

I haven't installed yet. My question is, how do you make sense of the cheesy little selector dial switch that comes with chip. Instructions state: running the wrong tune can damage engine. The switch has no reference as to what is what. It just clicks in circles and never reaches one side or the other. Nothing to say where No.1, No.2, No.3, etc, is...

Instructions explain on how to install chip, not a stinking word on the switch. One would think for 270 freaking bucks, SCT would provide a decent selector switch.

Anybody? Kinda wishing I would of got the SF3/X3 model...
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
MyGt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:24 AM   #2
sonicx
speed'n
 
sonicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle: 04 GT
Location: MN
Posts: 2,306
Default

Yes, I own one. On my switch I have a dial and a numbers 0-6. 0 does nothing. 1 is my race tune. 2 is my performance tune. 3 is my street tune. 4 is stock tune. And 5 and 6 can be security tunes or custom slots (but they come blank).

When I got my sct chip from AM & BAMA they send me a instructions and really broke things down for me. Explaining what each number represents n such.

Switching between tunes is easy. You should only change the dial when the car ignition is off. Never when the car is running.

Hope this helps. Let me know if you got anymore questions.
__________________




sonicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:14 AM   #3
MyGt03
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Vehicle: 1997 Ford Mustang
Location: canada
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicx View Post
Yes, I own one. On my switch I have a dial and a numbers 0-6. 0 does nothing. 1 is my race tune. 2 is my performance tune. 3 is my street tune. 4 is stock tune. And 5 and 6 can be security tunes or custom slots (but they come blank).

When I got my sct chip from AM & BAMA they send me a instructions and really broke things down for me. Explaining what each number represents n such.
Yeah, mine is exactly as yours. Tunes are in same numerical positions. However, mine didn't come with any numbers. Nothing that says dial is currently in "x" position.

Example, there is no little "dot" on the **** of the dial. It arrived pointing toward where the cable will connect to dial. But is this position No.1 or No.6? Could be No.3 or No.5... Keeping track of position it arrived, I tried turning dial **** one way, then the other. Seeing if it would stop turning one way or the other. If **** would of hit stops, it would be easier to reference their positions. But, **** just keeps turning in circles.

I could just install chip, leave dial where it is, and go from there. If it doesn't start, I guess I would be in No.0, No.5, or No.6 positions. Better fill up with 93 octane in case dial happens to be in No.3, race tune, position. Or maybe I should call BAMA and tell them I didn't receive any numbers...?
MyGt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:10 AM   #4
sonicx
speed'n
 
sonicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle: 04 GT
Location: MN
Posts: 2,306
Default

You attached the dial and have it point to number #4 first (stock). Install it, turn on the car w/ #4. Turn off the car. Now, you have your starting point. From here you may more the dial to the custom tunes.
__________________




sonicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:10 AM   #5
MyGt03
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Vehicle: 1997 Ford Mustang
Location: canada
Posts: 408
Default

Thanks for your help sonicx. I was about to upload a couple pictures of my switch when my digital camera picked up something I did not notice before. There are very tiny numbers on baseplate under the **** on the switch. I looked at that stupid switch 20 times and just now noticed them under the "v" groove in ****.

I feel much better now...lol

One more question, you notice any major difference after installing? My list of mods isn't real impressive. Basically a CAI and full exhaust. The rest are purely cosmetic. Also, where is a good place to mount switch and a good way to attach it?

Probably never afford F/I, but next tax return, I would like to do stage 2 cams, bigger T/B, and 100 shot juice...

Last edited by MyGt03; 05-30-2011 at 11:12 AM.
MyGt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:14 PM   #6
sonicx
speed'n
 
sonicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle: 04 GT
Location: MN
Posts: 2,306
Default

If you have an auto, then you'll notice that your shift points will be firmed up quite a bit. If you have a 5spd not so much unless you talked directly to a Bama tuner b4 and asked for an aggressive tuning chip (they'll do it) but you gotta ask for it. (JUST BASED OFF YOUR FEW MODS).

As for location, I had ordered a coin bezel too (but they ran out of them & i never got one). Now you can't find it anywhere But want I did was run the cable from the computer housing box right underneath the main consuel and up into the coin hold anyways and just left the coin holder in (your going to need a few zip ties to hold things in place). That way if I needed to change to a different tune I could just pull out the coin holder, do it, and put it back away.
__________________




sonicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 05:25 AM   #7
sonicx
speed'n
 
sonicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Vehicle: 04 GT
Location: MN
Posts: 2,306
Default

@MYGT03: You wouldn't happen to know where I could get a coin bezel holder? I've been searching for about a year. After AM discontinued it so did the only other online company that i've seen sell them. (Thought I'd at least ask)
sonicx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 05:25 AM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
bama, bank, blank, chip, dial, eliminator, install, location, mount, mounting, mustang, octane, ratings, sct, selector, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup