4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

4.6 4v woes

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2012, 01:56 PM
russchessnut

Default 4.6 4v woes

I'm tired. I did a favor for My Nephew and bough His '96 Cobra for payoff $4,000
It ran had oil pressure but had a knock. WRONG!!!
It had spun 6 out of 8 rod brgs, and the mains were on the verge of locking up. Use Motor $3800 with 139,000 miles so I decided to rebuild.
Took block, crank and heads to Monarch who I have been doing business with for 40 years. Bored .030 crank .010 & .010 heads pressure tested and rebuilt rods redone and shot peened. All new Ford Bolts, mains, rods, cross bolts and head bolts. Started right away sounds GREAT but sfter 50 miles water in the oil. Back apart and rechecked for cracks new gaskets and bolts and same thing. water in oil in the water. Has anyone ever run into an oil cooler leaking internally? I want to sell the car and I know I am going to lose a lot of money on it but I also want it right for who ever buys it. any help Please or does any one want to buy as is. Al parts in motor are new. Pistons & rings oil pump timing chains, guides and tensioners water pump. 114,000 miles on body and it is nice inside and out. I have $8,000 in this car and I hope Some one can help Me decide where to turn. Thank You All, Perplexed
Old 09-24-2012, 03:50 PM
rocket22
1st Gear Member

Default part it out?

Maybe you can get some cash that way. Car sounds beat, I would have done a swap.
Old 09-24-2012, 04:45 PM
mustang_bluemustle