4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

4.6 Crown Vic to Mustang question

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2013, 04:57 PM
acaeton4

Default 4.6 Crown Vic to Mustang question

Hey all, I'm new here but picked this forum because it seemed to have quite a few knowledgeable and helpful members. I'm an auto tech by trade, so competent with the work ahead of me on this car, but after lots of searching I can't seem to track down a few little bits of info I need. I'm in need of a motor for my 97 GT Conv. I can save several hundred and get a lower mileage motor by purchasing one from a CV of the same vintage (probably also not been driven as hard). I know that with a few parts switched over the Crown Vic engine can drop right in, that much I can figure out. What I'm wondering is this: The power specs for the CV are considerably lower than the Mustang. Is this an internal (pistons, cams...) build issue, or just the way it's tuned. If I plug it into my Mustang ECM will it run just like my original motor? I'm not looking for suggestions or opinions on how to build loads of power, or what else might work, just want an answer from somebody who knows as I've read that they have different cam profiles, and ALSO that they are identical internally, it's just programming. So if you can help me, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks!
Old 04-22-2013, 05:07 PM
acaeton4

And like an idiot noob I somehow managed to post this in the wrong spot. If you happen to be a moderator looking at this...please help me out and move this to the "swap" section.
Old 04-22-2013, 07:36 PM
school boy
5th Gear Member

if this is a npi 4.6 engine, its a complete long block drop in. the motors are exactly the same internally. if its the pi engine, you will only need the pi intake manifold.
Old 04-22-2013, 08:41 PM
acaeton4