4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Misfire Problem.

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2013, 09:35 PM
TravisJ33

Default Misfire Problem.

Ok here it goes. First off, I'm a machinist not a mechanic so please pardon my automotive ignorance. I'm trying.

So I have a 2002 Ford Mustang GT that is having misfire problems. I purchased a scan tool and pulled codes PO316 and PO305. This directed me to inspect cylinder number five in which, after removing the COP, I found coolant and oil down around the spark plug. I believe this may be my issue. My questions go as such:

(1) The leak appears to be coming from the housing in which my radiator hose connects into. It appears to be cast aluminum maybe, sort of U shaped, bends around behind the alternator. The leak is not coming from the hose itself but rather from a plastic gasket of sorts that seems to connect the housing to my block. I am wondering if there is a way to remove this housing from my block (if it is not part of the block itself), and replace/repair this plastic fitting. Procedure and part numbers would be strongly appreciated.

(2) If I can manage this is it then appropriate to use simple compressed air to remove the oil and coolant from around my spark plugs? I plan on checking the whole drivers side. Afterwards I was going to check the plugs themselves. Is there anything I should look for that would indicate I should change my plugs? They were changed about 5000 miles ago but with the contamination I'm not sure.

(3) Is there anything else I should be aware or concerned about? Proper cleaning, do not do's, etc. I do plan on picking up a spark tester to test the COP's.

I understand my request is a bit heavy perhaps but I do appreciate any and all info. I'm a novice but I follow directions well. Thank you.
Old 06-11-2013, 07:31 AM
96t-bird
5th Gear Member