4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Correct procedure for steering rack/outer tie rod replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2014, 08:46 AM
tracyballard
2nd Gear Member

Default Correct procedure for steering rack/outer tie rod replacement?

I've finally got my parts together to replace my steering rack that's leaking fluid from one of the boots, and I want to see if I can get some feedback on my planned order of operations. I've never done this job on any car before, so I want to glean knowledge from those who have learned the hard way.

First, I figure that since I'm replacing the outer tie rods and the rack, I should start with breaking the tie rods loose from the wheels, then removing the rack and and tie rods all together as one piece, then when it's on the ground remove the fluid lines from the rack. Then I guess I would replace the old tie rods with the new ones, being sure to count the threads and get them in the same place on the new rack as the old ones on the old rack. Then I would hook up the lines while the rack is still on the ground. Next, bolt up the new rack, then attach the tie rods. Does that sound good?
Old 01-29-2014, 02:35 PM
unitedwestang
2nd Gear Member

I took the fluid lines off before taking the rack off. Other than that, I did it the same way. The only problem I would see with your way is since you're going to have to have the front jacked up to get under, will the fluid lines be long enough to set the rack on the ground before removing them? I honestly can't remember how long they were. I just took them off first and it didn't pose any problems.

I will say that "unmounting" (probably could be a better verb choice there) the tie rods can be harder than you would think. Nothing a bfh couldn't take care of though!

Also, when its all said and done, don't forget to "prime" the system. Good luck! Its not too bad of a job.
Old 01-29-2014, 08:22 PM
art02gt