4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

clutch swap first timer, my experience.

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2015, 12:17 PM
Sandmanbjj
2nd Gear Member

Default clutch swap first timer, my experience.

I'm currently in the process of doing a clutch replacement on my 2001 GT. I'm also putting some mac long tube headers.
I'm a shade tree mechanic at best. And it's going to be quite a journey.
Currently I have the car on jack stands. A jack on the center.of the rear axle for safety. The mid pipe is out, starter is out (that 3rd bolt was a bitch). The transmission is mostly unbolted and supported by 2 jacks.

Today im going to loosen the motor mounts and tilt the transmission and engine so I can get the top 2 bolts.... I think that's the hard part so far.
Old 01-13-2015, 03:52 PM
Chromeshadow
3rd Gear Member

I'm always impressed to see people jump in to take car of their car. You'll learn some new things and you'll love your car more when you are the one to take car of it.
Replacing a clutch is not that hard, make sure you inspect and replace everything needed when it's apart. If you have a pilot bearing, make sure it's replaced. I'd recommend a new throw out bearing. Check the flywheel for cracks and burns, resurface or replace if needed, check the linkage and cable or hydrolics. Make sure you have the right alignment tool for the clutch disk. Do not get grease on the new clutch or flywheel. Good luck!
Old 01-13-2015, 06:19 PM
Soldier GT
6th Gear Member

What clutch are you going with?
Old 01-13-2015, 08:29 PM
Sandmanbjj
2nd Gear Member

I love to work on my car. I got into it by buying the Hanes manual for a 1994 ranger I had. Ended up doing so much to that truck. Now I have the shop manual or Hanes for every vehicle I buy.
I went with the exedy Mach 350 stage 1 for the clutch kit. I will be replacing the pilot bearing and tob.