4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

QUESTIONS ABOVE ENGINES - Experts welcome!

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 12:15 AM
mustangcat
Deputy CatDog - To Purr'tect and Explode

Default QUESTIONS ABOVE ENGINES - Experts welcome!

Ok, I've been learning about automotives for about 3 years now, and here's some engine/Mustang/Tech questions that have been bugging me. Hopefully, you can help!

Was the Mustang really named after the P-51 "Tankbuster" Mustang? I overheard this in the movie "Paul Blart: Mall Cop", but why the horse if it's actually an airplane..?

If the 4.6L P.I. is made of Cast Iron, and the S197 GT 3v is made of alluminum, doe's that mean the P.I. engine could handle more power, since cast iron is stronger? I'd think the 3v has better internals, so it could handle lower powers better, but if internally forged, the P.I. would be better, right?

Why are we still using cams?

I mean, we can have a hard drive spin to 10,000 RPM, but we can't use a electronic cam system that's free of the engine? Think about it! No cams would mean a 4v engine that weighs basically nothing, frees up drag on the engine from timing chains, and idles at 0 RPM but could spin to 10,000 RPM and beyond!

#4 Are transmission flushes bad if you've never had one done before?

I have the 4r70w auto tranny, I'm at 95,000 and I've heard that if I haven't done a flush by now, to not do one at all. Is this true?
Old 06-05-2009, 12:45 AM
jvog
5th Gear Member

IIRC, an aluminum block can actually hold more power than a cast iron block. Aluminum is softer, buts its also less brittle. Cast iron is more likely to crack than an aluminum block is.
Old 06-05-2009, 01:15 AM
2000AZ5.0GT
5th Gear Member

Well, MC, if you want to start designing an engine that will use hard drive technology, I'll write the software