4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

How to Make Mustang into a Drift Machine

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2010, 05:30 PM
Terminal_GT

Originally Posted by guitarist4life
Ive answered numerous questions on this topic.

Mustangs are not IDEAL..but can be built to drift. Just look at Vaughn Gittin Jrs car.

I have a few questions for you

have you drifted on the track before in any car what so ever? Do u know the basics of car building? Much like any other motor sports drifting takes practice, time and money. Ive been drifting on the track for 4 years now. I can help you get on your way. PM me if ya want

the V8 model would be ideal. However, mustangs have a massive amount of understeer. So first off, suspension mods. Brakes. Weight reduction. THEN, lower gears for the first three gears if you really wanna get serious. More power is then next

I DO NOT recommend learning the physics and basics of drifting in a mustang. I recommend a nissan 240sx or Toyota Corrolla.(1984-1989). IF you are dead serious about wanting to pursue the motorsport of drifting, then we can talk about more expansive mods
I have never been to an actual track. Although I do drift my Dodge Ram on dirt roads and do some nasty powerslides in the rain which gives me a little practice with throttle control. Ive also done a lot of e-brake turns and reverse 180s, etc. in FWD cars so I do have some understanding of car physics, although im sure on a track it is considerably different.

Now that you've mentioned this, I think I might get a 240SX when I come home from the Marines and have a Stang as a DD later on. After all, almost everytime I see someone drifting a new edge stang they seem to have quite a bit of trouble lol

I am dead serious about persuing drifting, but it wont be until I get out of the service in about 4 years, or I may be able to work somethin out while im still in.