Search



Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang > 4.6L General Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2011, 09:43 AM   #1
69MustangCoupe393cid
4th Gear Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,121
Default Hookup up a sub in a factory Mach 460?

Who's done it?

How much voltage should I be getting at my data feed connector in the back of my car? I have my ALOC hooked up/tapped in to the factory wires but I get no power through the RCA wires at all.

The factory Mach 460 works perfect... all 8 speakers. But I can't get power to my RCA's. Could I have a bad ALOC or do I need more then .08 volts coming into it for it to work? That seems like low voltage to me, but my factory stuff works on that voltage. Any input is appreciated, this has been going on for weeks and I'm starting to get annoyed.

EDIT: This is another thread related to this if it helps.

http://mustangforums.com/forum/4-6l-...ease-help.html
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!

Last edited by 69MustangCoupe393cid; 10-11-2011 at 07:16 PM.
69MustangCoupe393cid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 10:39 AM   #2
dwtjr3
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 2001 GT
Location: PA
Posts: 2,758
Default

I am reading 6 volts coming into my amp.
__________________

dwtjr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 05:26 PM   #3
69MustangCoupe393cid
4th Gear Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwtjr3 View Post
I am reading 6 volts coming into my amp.
Jesus. Then how the hell does my system work on .04-.08V? If I unplug the wire while the stereo is on, the subs straight up turn off. So I know they're working. Is a 2000 different as far as the voltages?

EDIT: I just realized that in 01+ the stereo itself is a pre-amp. In 2000 I they had 3 amps, so my data feed might be before the preamp. Is this maybe the difference? Does anyone have a pre 01 Mach 460 that they cant test?

On a side note I have another ALOC on the way in case that was my problem.

Last edited by 69MustangCoupe393cid; 10-07-2011 at 05:34 PM.
69MustangCoupe393cid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:15 PM   #4
69MustangCoupe393cid
4th Gear Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,121
Default

I tested the new ALOC I got and as far as the tests I ran on it it seems to act the same as the old one. I didn't hook it up but I don't think that's the problem. Do they require more voltage to work? This makes no sense to me, the old melted one was hooked up there and I assume it worked at one point. Am I supposed to have more voltage in those wires?
69MustangCoupe393cid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:52 PM   #5
dwtjr3
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Vehicle: 2001 GT
Location: PA
Posts: 2,758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 69MustangCoupe393cid View Post
I tested the new ALOC I got and as far as the tests I ran on it it seems to act the same as the old one. I didn't hook it up but I don't think that's the problem. Do they require more voltage to work? This makes no sense to me, the old melted one was hooked up there and I assume it worked at one point. Am I supposed to have more voltage in those wires?
Where did you run you 12v wire to? And are you making a strong ground?
__________________

dwtjr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 09:10 PM   #6
69MustangCoupe393cid
4th Gear Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwtjr3 View Post
Where did you run you 12v wire to? And are you making a strong ground?
The amp isn't the problem, it's that the RCA's have no power at the ALOC. The data feed harness to the amps has voltage (.o4-.08 or so), but when I hook up the ALOC I can't get any output from the RCA's directly on the ALOC.

I have it tapped into the plug/harness in this link here:

http://mustangworld.com/ourpics/fcar/despeeds1.htm
69MustangCoupe393cid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 09:10 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1965, 460, amp, back, cables, hook, hooking, mach, mustang, pre, radio, rca, subs, subwoofer, voltage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2

This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup