4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

Laser Red 00 GT Build Up

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2012, 06:09 PM
motorman524
MF Informant

Default Laser Red 00 GT Build Up

I picked up my first New Edge yesterday. The car is really beat to death. It's got 118,xxx miles, a new unpainted front bumper cover and headlights on it because it was wrecked, the wire harness melted down and started a small fire, The auto trans doesn't shift like it should, and the brakes apparently don't work. Interior is in fair condition as well as the body. I picked it up for an absolute STEAL though.

I'm new to modular Mustangs and would like some opinions for first mods to the car. I'm thinking get the bumper cover painted and then do exhaust and gears, then work on my manual conversion and suspension. The mechanical and electrical problems that the car came with are no biggie. I've already got most of them figured out, just need to put in the wrench time. Below is a parts list of stuff that I have in my garage that I plan on using:

TKO 600 w/PRO 5.0 shifter
Steeda Superlite rear springs
Strange front coilovers
MM Subframe connectors
Innovate Motorsport MTX-L
01 Anthracite Bullitts

Here is the car when I got it home yesterday. It was DIRTY! I cleaned it up a little, still have a long way to go though. I had to wash it 3 times to get all the black mold and tar off the car. I have some rubbing compound that I'll use to brighten it. I'm gonna use some Tuff Stuff carpet cleaner tomorrow on the inside. I put my Anthracite Bullitts on as well. Looks a lot better than the black ones.

Looks pretty good with the Anthracites.

Old 05-27-2012, 08:21 PM
uberstang1
Chupacabra

Stay far away form TKOs takes alot of money to make em shift right, and sometimes it still doesn't work. What did u pay for it.
Old 05-27-2012, 08:21 PM
Soldier GT
6th Gear Member