Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

New Gears...and more

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 04:42 PM
GT Rick
1st Gear Member

Default New Gears...and more

Ok, I've been holding off for 4-5 months now, but yesterday I finally had FRPP 4.10 gears installed. I have been a little worried with all the talk of gear whine, but 24 hours and 150 miles later, every things great! I had them installed at a local dealer, which I know costs more, but I was garranteed no whine. To top it off I installed FRPP axil back stingers. It's like a whole new car, and the gears really get the car up to dance quick! I love the sound and look of the mufflers.

One of the best things about the gear mod is the wife really can't tell I'll see how long before she notices the mufflers....

now what should I install next.........

Old 04-08-2008, 04:47 PM
rshamekh
4th Gear Member

Default RE: New Gears...and more

haha i bet the wife would notice the stingers pretty soon
Old 04-08-2008, 08:18 PM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

4.10s FTW!

How about a short throw shifter next. Or, if you want to spend some bigger dollars, how about springs and dampers.
Old 04-08-2008, 08:34 PM
GT Rick
1st Gear Member

The shifter might be hard to hide

I've thought of springs, but I don't want to make the ride too rough...any comments on this? I do like to take it on trips out of town once and a while, and I don't want to feel every bump.
Old 04-08-2008, 08:53 PM
Texotic
5th Gear Member

if the wife doesn't drive the car, install the MGW shifter and use the stock boot and handle. it'll actually be quieter than stock if the install is right and there won't be any way to tell anything is different unless she drives the car. i'm guessing she doesn't, or else she would have noticed the 4.10's...
Old 04-08-2008, 09:04 PM
GT Rick
1st Gear Member