Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Can anyone explain this??? Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2010, 10:39 PM
MReesePT

Default Can anyone explain this??? Help

I recently updated my 2003 Mustang GT Convertible with a 2006 Mustang GT convertible but have a problem that seems to be getting worse. I am a Newbie to this forum and need some advice, please.

When I test drove the car the first time it seemed to lack acceleration from 3000-5000 rpm's, but the more I drove it, this seemed to go away. I dismissed it as the car hadnt been driven in a while and bought the car.

Now that I have about 1000 miles on the car I am loosing significant acceleration. This loss was intermittant at first, but now it happens every time I drive it after the first time through the gears.

To explain further.... I start the car up and take off with great power the first time through the gears, but after that, it is very sluggish from 3000-5000 rpms not having that "kick" of acceleration. If I stop and shut the car off, start it right back up, it then has the power that it had initially but only for the first cycle through the gears. This is very frustrating because I can see how much power the car should have and it will not run that way all the time.

My car is a 2006 GT with 85,000 miles with all stock equipement. I have changed the plugs, cleaned the mass air flow sensor, cleaned the TB, reset the gas pedal all as described in this forum with no success. I am planning on gettting a CAI and tune but I would like to get it running "back to normal" before modifying and improving.

I would appreciate your thoughts. Thanks
Old 09-02-2010, 05:01 AM
Menace
5th Gear Member