Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Learn more about Stangs

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2011, 11:36 PM
Vscout

Default Learn more about Stangs

First off, I didn't even know where to begin to search a thread for information. Basically, I want to learn how to really work on my Mustang. https://mustangforums.com/forum/2005...d-started.html That post just kinda flipped a switch. It's amazing how the engine went out and he just fixed it himself.
I'm not really experienced with the mechanics of cars but would really like to learn. I know about as far as replacing oil, changing brake pads, and changing a CAI. Where would I even start to learn more about messing with Mustangs? I'm talking about changing suspension, taking the engine apart, etc. Highly technical stuff. I was thinking about taking a mechanics class at a college out here. What else could you guys suggest?

Thanks.
-jeff
Old 04-06-2011, 12:02 AM
alkemist
5th Gear Member

I would look through a shop manual or repair manual. You can also look for a mustang club. Depending on size, a lot of them have meets where they work on cars. You can learn a lot and hands on.
Old 04-06-2011, 12:17 AM
Vscout

Originally Posted by alkemist
I would look through a shop manual or repair manual. You can also look for a mustang club. Depending on size, a lot of them have meets where they work on cars. You can learn a lot and hands on.
I bought a Haynes manual and read through it. The crappy thing about it is the low quality photos. I know of a Mustang club here in Las Vegas but I work on the days it meets so I'm trying to change my schedule to start going to the meetings. Thanks for the advice. I love my Mustang and just want to learn more about it.
Old 04-06-2011, 06:57 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Keep reading thru the forums. You'll learn plenty.
Old 04-06-2011, 01:06 PM
yourmyboybh1026
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Nuke