Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

2008 Mustang GT / Hesitation, rough idle on warm weather

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2011, 12:11 PM
tom24

Default 2008 Mustang GT / Hesitation, rough idle on warm weather

Hi everyone,

I'm a relatively new Mustang- owner. I bought the car, 2008 Mustang GT manual transmission, in May 2011 with ~25000 miles on it. The car is fully stock as far as I know. I live in Texas, this might be an important part, you'll see if you read on

Symptoms:
So, from the very beginning I've had some problems with the car hesitating when I'm taking off normally. It feels like it wants to choke and there's no torque on the low revs, so I need to really let the clutch slip more than I'd like to (I've been driving manuals for over 15 years).
Also, the idle has been a little rough, and, when idling, if I quickly give it some revs and lay off, the revs will first go up and then down to around 500rpm for a few seconds before rising back up to around 800rpm where the idle seems to settle. Also doing this will cause some exhaust popping.

All this just makes the car very difficult to drive "smoothly". But the car seems to give me full power once I get it moving and stomp on the gas pedal.

History and story:
I took the car to the dealer in June due to these issues, but they did not find anything. And there aren't any, and never have been, CEL -lights or anything indicating any problem. So I figured that the car is just difficult to drive.

But now, it seems that the winter has finally arrived in Texas and the temperatures have plummeted. And my car is driving like a dream! Looks like