Tuner problem - MustangForums.com


4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2012, 09:49 PM   #1
notsofast
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
notsofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 205
Default Tuner problem

Just purchased a BAMA tune SCT X3/SFT tuner from American Muscle for a recently purchased 2008 GT. I cannot get the tuner to load - "error 1019." I'll call BAMA in the morning. I suspect the problem might be that the car already has a tune on it. The car was purchased from a dealership and they have no previous records. The main reason I am trying to install a new tune is that it has 4.10 gears but the speedo is set up for the stock 3.31 gears.
Anyone heard of this problem? Thanks.
notsofast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:08 AM   #2
lawrencecar1
2nd Gear Member
 
lawrencecar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 369
Default

i read similar problem and key was not in the right start position.
lawrencecar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 08:04 PM   #3
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

It's possiblle that the previous owner had a tune on it OR that it was reflashed by a dealer. AM will be able to walk you thru the process to determine what you need and they'll e-mail you updated tunes, if that's the issue. Good luck.
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 09:02 PM   #4
notsofast
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
notsofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 205
Default

Lawrence, you are dead on the money correct. The good folks at BAMA talked my son through it today - I had the key at position 1 and it needed to be on 2. Then, everything loaded just fine and the car is running great. Somewhat embarrassing for me I must say.
I do think there was another tune on the car when we purchased it, but that didn't seem to matter as things turned out.
Thanks again, Nuke and Lawrence.
notsofast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:17 AM   #5
lawrencecar1
2nd Gear Member
 
lawrencecar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 369
Default

good deal..
lawrencecar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:43 PM   #6
aaron88stang
 
aaron88stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 21
Default

I am having the same problem, but I am pretty sure I have had the key at position two. I have called Bama and SCT and so far no luck. SCT wants me to check the voltage on the OBDII port. I suppose I will try again just to make sure I have the key in the correct position...I really hope that is all it is. I am getting pretty frustrated with it.
aaron88stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 01:40 PM   #7
aaron88stang
 
aaron88stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 21
Default

I tried again last night. I am certain that I had the key in the correct position. Is there anything else (simple I hope) that will cause this error? The Tuner reads and clears trouble codes just fine, I just can not load the custom tune...
aaron88stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 02:05 PM   #8
lawrencecar1
2nd Gear Member
 
lawrencecar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 369
Default

Are you waiting too long to turn to on position when prompted ? Do u have the latest update on your sct ? Call SCT support. They will get you going in 30 minutes..

Last edited by lawrencecar1; 03-15-2012 at 02:25 PM.
lawrencecar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 08:29 AM   #9
aaron88stang
 
aaron88stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 21
Default

I assume I am turning it on quick enough. I will try and update the firmware tonight. I hope that helps. Thanks.
aaron88stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 07:31 AM   #10
aaron88stang
 
aaron88stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: KY
Posts: 21
Default

updated the firmware but I am still getting the same error...
aaron88stang is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Code troubleshooting Jb145700 4.6L V8 Technical Discussions 8 09-24-2015 05:08 PM
Tuner/air intake dealer service question 04stangman 2005-2014 Mustangs 4 09-17-2015 02:45 PM
Automatic tuner recommendations nboost 5.0L GT S550 Tech 7 09-16-2015 06:35 AM
2005-2009 Mustang Gt Paxton Supercharger Tuner Kit (New) ernesto-619 Mustang News, Concepts, Rumors & Discussion 0 09-10-2015 02:32 AM
Speedometer issue after tuning articman General Tech 0 09-04-2015 05:42 AM


Tags
2006, 2011, 2012, 302, bama, boss, convertible, gt, mustang, problems, s3, swap, tune, tuner, tuners, wheels

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.