Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

JLT CAI/SCT Tuner issues?

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 06:05 PM
Rmpenton

My instructions didn't say to disconnect the battery. I think the tuner resets the computer when the program is installed
Old 03-06-2012, 06:17 PM
Wpipes
1st Gear Member

Ok, bear with me here as like I said I'm new to all of this, but the "stock tune" part is confusing me.

I'm running the performance tune currently, but as Rmpenton pointed out I'm noticing that before the vehicle shifts, it hangs at about 6500rpm's for a second before dropping way down and shifting.

The MAF is facing the same direction as it was in the stock airbox with the writing on it facing right side up.

I'm going to call them after I get off, but so I can stay proactive (and sane) would you all recommend disconnecting the battery and reloading the performance tune?
Old 03-06-2012, 06:27 PM
Rmpenton

I don't think that disconnecting the battery will help. What we mean by stock tune is on the tuner it says return to stock. You don't want to do that. Call bama tunes and tell them to return your transmission shift points back to stock but leave the engine tune how it is. They will send you three new tunes that you will have to download from your email. Follow the directions in the email. Especially the one where it says return your car to stock before downloading the new tunes. Just don't try to start the car once it is in stock mode. I know it is a pain in the *** but it is worth it. The stock transmission set up is much better than the bama tunes one
Old 03-06-2012, 06:31 PM
kzonts
5th Gear Member

If everything is installed properly with no leaks, the MAF sensor is correctly installed and you are using the proper octane, then it's the tune. Is this a new CAI? Did you recently oil it? Just asking...
Old 03-06-2012, 06:35 PM
StangisSwag
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Rmpenton